Thursday, February 11, 2010

Darklight by Leslie Livingston

(Wonderous Strange, #2) 
Written by Leslie Livingston
Released December 22, 2009
Published by HarperTeen

Darklight is the second book in the Wonderous Strange trilogy by Leslie Livingston.  Wonderous Strange easily made my Top Picks of 2009 and Darklight will be one my favorite reads of 2010!  I love this series! I am a big fan of Fae books in general, but this series is written so beautifully that I am already counting down the days for the third and final book in the series that is due out in December of this year.

Darklight (Wondrous Strange, #2)Summary from Goodreads:

"Much has changed since autumn, when Kelley Winslow learned she was Faerie royalty, fell in love with changeling guard Sonny Flannery, and saved New York City from a rampaging Faerie war band. When a terrifying encounter in Central Park sends Kelley tumbling into the Otherworld, her reunion with Sonny is joyful—but cut short. For they’ve been plunged into a game of Faerie deception and wavering allegiances in which the next move could topple a kingdom...or part them forever.

The fans who flocked to Lesley Livingston’s Wondrous Strange will fall hard for Darklight, the soaringly romantic second book in the trilogy. Breathless high stakes and vividly magical characters make this a can’t-miss fantasy for readers of Melissa Marr and Holly Black." 

My Thoughts:
Darklight picks up 6 months after the events at the end of Wonderous StrangeKelley has had some time to digest the news about her Faery heritage and the identity of her real parents.  She is back at the theater trying to resume her 'mortal' life again, which means that her magic is being supressed by her ever present green jeweled necklace.  She desperately misses Sonny (her boyfriend/Janus Guard member), who is in the Otherworld under orders from Auberon tracking down and eliminating the remaining members of "The Wild Hunt".  Kelley's life quickly swings out of control when she is thrust into the Otherworld after a surprising attack against her and Fennrys Wolf (Janus Guard/ Hottie).  What transpires is an exciting tale of Faery politics, deception, and romance.

One of the strong points in Leslie Livingston's books is her character development.  She writes so beautifully and it reflects in her characters.  The central theme of this book is the relationship between Kelley and Sonny.  The circumstances they face in the book are the catalyst for the changes that begin to show in their characters.  Kelley is beginning to reveal more of her faery side.  In Wonderous Strange she seemed to cling to her humanity, but in Darklight she begins to embrace who and what she is.  She is becoming more confident in herself and is able to take care of herself better.  Her love for Sonny is the driving force behind most of her actions and this love will definitely be tested!  She is also beginning to understand that everything and everyone is not always as it seems.  Sonny is as hot as ever, but he seems tormented as well.  He is torn between his desire to be with Kelley and his duty to carry out Auberon's orders in the Otherworld.  We learn much more about Sonny and his past and a HUGE bombshell is dropped that I did not see coming!!

I also truly enjoyed the secondary characters in Darklight!  I especially liked getting to know Fennrys Wolf better!  We were introduced to him in Wonderous Strange as a member of the Janus Guard.  He was portrayed as a ruthless killer and was feared by most.  In this book we are given glimpses of a more vunerable side.  When he and Kelley tumble into the Otherworld together,  an attraction between them begins to take shape that both of them try to ignore.  He shows a softer side when he is with Kelley and at times I actually found myself rooting for Fennrys instead of Sonny!  Kelley's roomate Tyff is back again too.  I just love her and her snarky attitude!  The other Janus Guards, Jack Savage, Mabh, Auberon, and the other faeries help make this book a great read!

Darklight is a fast-paced page turner that will hook you in the first chapter! The plot is full of twists and turns that keep you guessing until the end!  Speaking of the ending.... All I can say is WOW- I did not see that coming!  The events that take place at the conclusion of Darklight set the stage for an incredible final book! 


  1. Great review!! I'm enjoying darklight more then wondrous strange right now :) I agree I might be rooting for Fennrys.

  2. im looking forward to this!

    i cant wait to get my hands on it and it sounds really good

    great review!

  3. So excited you liked this because I'm just starting it. Can't wait to turn the pages. Thanks for the review!

  4. LOVE this book, great review! I can't wait for the third book :)

  5. I love the cover, it looks so fairytalish (I have no idea how to spell that) and I also like the summary.