Sunday, December 19, 2010

In My Mailbox (54) and Secret Santa Gifts!!


**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox'is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week.  Here is what I got:
 
I participated in two Secret Santas this year and I received some amazing goodies!  The first holiday swap that I participated in was the Booklover's Secret Santa.  My swap partner was the fabulous Emily from Emily's Reading Room.  She totally hooked me up!  Check out all of the goodies she sent me.  Thanks so much Emily!  Please take a little time and go check her out at Emily's Reading Room!  I also participated in the Book Blogger's Holiday Swap.  My Secret Santa was the wonderful Pixie from Page Turners!  She sent me some great books that were on my wishlist!  Thank you Pixie, I love my goodies!  You need to go check her out at Page Turners!


From Emily:
A SIGNED copy of Matched by Ally Condie!
Arc of The Lost Saint by Bree Despain!!!
A SUPER cute hat crocheted by Emily herself!
A Match Made in Highschool by Kristin Walker pencil and matchbook
Box of Selling Hope by Kristin O'Donnell Tubb 'anti-comet pills' (too cute!)
Shadow Hills by Anastasia Hopcus pin
Bookmarks:
Signed Paranormalcy by Kiersten White
Signed Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready
Poison Study, Magic Study, and Fire Study by Maria V. Snyder
Mistwood by Leah Cypess
Flux bookmark
The Dark Divine by Bree Despain
Cute alligator card

From Pixie:
Signed copy of Shadow of the Sun by Laura Kreitzer!
Copy of Prophecy of Days by Christy Raedeke!

Thank you sooooo much Emily and Pixie!  You guys are AWESOME Secret Santas!  I love all my goodies!

I hit a few bookstores this week too.  I found some amazing bargains on some good books- so I couldn't resist!  Here is what I bought:


Blood Promise by Richelle Mead (future contest prize)
2 copies of Restoring Harmony by Joelle Anthony (one for me- one for a contest prize)
Graceling by Kristin Cashore (contest prize)
The Red Queen's Daughter by Jacqueline Kolosov
Dead Beautiful by Yvonne Woon
Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves
The Magicians by Lev Grossman
Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson
Undead Much? by Stacey Jay
Amy & Roger's Epic Detour by Morgan Matson (trade- thanks Brandi!)


Wow! What a haul this week!  I can't wait to read all of these.  Now you know what I got.  What did you get?

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Purpose Blog Tour Stop: Character Interview with Alexis Ames!



If you haven't heard of the Soul-Savers Series by Kristie Cook then you are definitely missing out!  Promise (Book 1) is one of my all-time favorite reads and Purpose is just as good if not better!!  Although these books are not YA, they have tons of YA appeal (recommended for 17 and up).  This series is an action-packed Heaven vs. Hell paranormal smackdown mixed with romance, suspense, and intrigue!  I LOVE it!!!!
I am super excited to introduce my guest today.  She is one of the main characters in the Soul Savers Series, (LUCKY) wife of the super hot Tristan Knight and an all-around kick ass character!  Welcome to Extreme Reader Book Reviews Alexis Ames!  Thank you so much for stopping by to chat with me for a few minutes.  I know you are super busy these days and I appreciate you taking the time to talk to us!  So without further ado....


1)Describe yourself in three words.
Mom, writer, a-little-insane (Are those three redundant…?)

2) You have spent most of your life 'in the dark' about what you are and what your destiny holds. What has been the hardest part of not knowing?
It’s one thing to know your family has skeletons in the closet that the adults won’t tell you. But when your “skeletons” mean you have weird, annoying quirks – like instant healing or a sixth sense or that your mom can lift a refrigerator over her head – you go crazy with curiosity. And then you get people giving you crap all the time and you just want to know why…as if knowing will change anything. The worst part, though, was when I was attacked by those…creatures [when my story starts in Promise]. When Mom wouldn’t explain then, I decided it was time to do something. Of course, that didn’t turn out exactly as planned…

3) You are a mother now, How has that changed you?
First, let me admit that I’m not the greatest mother. I haven’t exactly been myself since…well, since that horrible day… I do my best to push aside my issues, at least for a little while, and try to be the best mom I can be under the circumstances. Fortunately, our time together is the best part of my day – the only time I feel most like the real me. So I can be almost normal, teaching and playing and loving like a mom should. I know I’m not perfect at self-sacrificing, but I do always watch out for Dorian’s best interests…even if it’s in his best interest to be as far away from me as possible. I know he’s in good hands when he’s with Mom, though. Thank God for her!

4) Speaking of that horrible day, that’s how we left you in Promise. Your life since then must be unbearable. Where do you find your strength to make it day to day?
In my son and in my writing. I suppose that’s another way being a mom has changed me – it has given me strength I didn’t know possible. I remind myself to keep on going for him. And for Tristan. I have to hang onto hope.

5) What is your favorite memory of Tristan (try to keep it as PG as possible!:)
Really, some of my favorite times with him was cooking together. I liked cooking before I met him, but when we hung out in the kitchen, sometimes bumping into each other in Mom’s tiny place…we had so much fun, just the two of us.

6) You are a writer of paranormal books. How has writing helped you through life’s struggles?
Writing is my escape. I get to leave my life and enter someone else’s for a while. Theirs might be just as craptastic, but since it’s not real, it’s more fun and exciting. Does that make any sense? It’s like reading a really good book – the exact story you want to read right now. It’s full of conflict and tension and stress, but it’s still an escape for you, right? Writing lets me forget, at least for a little while.

7) Although you have powers yourself, if you could have ANY superpower you wanted what would you choose?
I wrote a story once about a loner girl (hmm, wonder where I got that idea) who could freeze the world. She’d freeze it, rearrange people – specifically the ones that bullied her – into embarrassing positions and then unfreeze it, leaving her enemies in compromising positions for everyone to see. It’s not a mystery why I always thought that would be a great power. Not just for revenge, though, but also to stop criminals – put them in a different place so they can’t complete their crimes. But, admittedly, also for revenge. Of course, the main character in my story learned that there were consequences to her messing around like that…but a girl can dream, right?

8) Growing up was tough for you. You constantly felt like an outcast because of your 'differences' from other kids. What advice can you give teens who may read this that have similar feelings of not fitting in?
It does get better. Kids are mean, but they’re really just worried about their own issues, using others to make themselves feel better about themselves. I know you hear this all the time, but that’s because it’s true. By the time you hit college, most kids are pretty much over that. College and the real world are so diverse, making it easier to find your niche, your group of real friends. They are out there. You’ll find them. Whenever you think you’ve had enough, give yourself – and the world – six more months. So much can change in six months.

Thank you for inviting me to your lovely blog! I enjoyed spending time with all of you. If anyone has any questions – for me or Kristie – please feel free to ask.

Thanks so much for stopping by Alexis!

*If you haven't read Promise then YOU MUST order it! If you've read it then prepare yourself for a late night of reading when you get your hands on Purpose!!  You can check out my review of Promise HERE and my review of Purpose HERE!  Thanks for visiting!

  cover-thumbnail  cover-thumbnail

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Review: Purpose by Kristie Cook

Purpose (Soul Savers #2) [5stars.jpg]
Purpose (Souls Savers #2)
Written by Kristie Cook
Release Date: December 15, 2010
Published by Ang'dora Productions
*Arc provided by author in exchange for an honest review*


Summary from Goodreads:
"Lost in despair, Alexis teeters on the edge of an abyss, her lifeline of hope fraying into a thin thread. If it snaps, she’ll plunge into complete darkness. With the help of her son and her writing, she’s been able to hold on. Until now. Erratic impulses, disturbing delusions and her own demonic blood threaten her sanity. When she’s forced to choose between hanging onto hope or letting go to serve her Amadis purposes, she faces a decision with inconceivable sacrifices.

Alexis runs to the one place she thinks will provide answers, only to find herself at the center of another battle of good versus evil, not only with the Daemoni, not only within herself…but also against the worst opponent imaginable. But even if she wins, what will she lose?"


My Thoughts: 
I have been racking my brain trying to find a way to review this book in a way that does it justice.  I guess I could start by saying that it is INCREDIBLE!  I felt this exact same way after reading the first book in this series, Promise, but Purpose is even better!  If you haven't read Promise STOP HERE and go get it NOW!!  I would hate to spoil any of the goodness for you in this review of the second book!........ Purpose picks up in the present.  Alexis has been dealing with her husband/soulmate's absence the best way that she can which equals just existing.  The only bright spot in her despair is her and Tristan's son, Dorian.  She has been passing the time writing and her books are wildly popular.  But all Alexis focuses on is holding on to the promise Tristan made to her before he left for the ill-fated battle at the end of book one- "I'll be back- I promise".  While reading this portion of the book I really could feel Alexis' despair and desperation.  I felt so bad for her and I so wanted Tristan to reappear.  Kristie Cook did such a fantastic job relating the character's emotions and making them jump off the page.  Her characters are so real to you while you read their story and I felt so connected to them.  Her attention to detail doesn't end with the characters.  The Amadis and the Daemoni are better understood in this book.  Many of the questions I carried over from the Promise were answered in this book.  The plot was seamless and Kristie's writing flowed beautifully.  I just love how easy it is for me to sit down with one of her books and realize hours later that I have actually been reading that long!  The time seems to slip away as you get sucked into the story!  As far as endings go- this one is missing NOTHING!  It is climatic, action-packed, and fulfilling.  Of course there is still the open-door for the next installment, but I was satisfied with where it left off.  I can't even tell you how often I have recommended Promise to friends, colleagues and blog followers.  Now I will have to sing the praises of this book as well because it is 100% deserving!!  I would like to clarify that this IS NOT A YA book!  It contains adult situations, sexual content(fanning myself as we speak!)  and my SUPER HOT ROMANTIC Dream guy (aka Tristan)!  I would recommend this to ages 17 and up.  
Thank you Kristie Cook for not only giving me a much needed Tristan fix- but one helluva story to go with it!!  I am already swooning for the third book!  Purpose releases tomorrow, so make sure you order your copy TODAY!  Also don't miss the Twitter Virtual Release Party TONIGHT @ 8pm est!  For more info on all of the fun and prizes available during the Release Party go HERE!


*If you would like to learn more about The Soul Savers Series or Kristie Cook you can find more info through the following links:

Kristie Cook/Promise/Purpose/Goodreads
 

Sunday, December 12, 2010

In My Mailbox (53)

**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox'is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week.  Here is what I got:


For Review:
Darkest Mercy (Wicked Lovely #5) by Melissa Marr
*Thanks Melissa and HarperCollins!

Bought:
Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6) by Richelle Mead

*Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Waiting On Wednesday

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/__XbVbpIU5LU/TPZmqVjxLwI/AAAAAAAACrI/auLbQhDrMiE/s1600/waiting+on+wednesday+1.png
"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Jill from Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.  It is always so hard to decide which books I want to feature on Wednesdays.  There are so many wonderful books coming out!  Waiting is such torture!  Here are a few that I am waiting for....

LuminousLuminous
Written by Dawn Metcalf
Release Date: July 7, 2011
Published by Dutton Childen's Books

Summary from Goodreads:
"When sixteen-year-old Consuela discovers she can remove her skin, revealing a lustrous mother-of-pearl skeleton, she slips into a parallel world known as the Flow, a place inhabited by archetypal teens with extraordinary abilities. Crafting skins out of anything – air, water, feathers, fire – she is compelled to save ordinary people from dying before their time. Yet now someone is murdering them, one by one, and Consuela finds herself the focus of an intricate plot to end the Flow forever when all she really wants is to get back home, alive."
 
*Wow.... What an intriguing summary and gorgeous cover!! 
 
 
Haunting VioletHaunting Violet
Written by Alyxandra Harvey
Release Date: June 21, 2011
Published by Walker Books for Young Readers
 
Summary from Goodreads:
"Violet Willoughby doesn't believe in ghosts. But they believe in her. After spending years participating in her mother's elaborate ruse as a fraudulent medium, Violet is about as skeptical as they come in all matters supernatural. Now that she is being visited by a very persistent ghost, one who suffered a violent death, Violet can no longer ignore her unique ability. She must figure out what this ghost is trying to communicate, and quickly because the killer is still on the loose.
Afraid of ruining her chance to escape her mother's scheming through an advantageous marriage, Violet must keep her ability secret. The only person who can help her is Colin, a friend she's known since childhood, and whom she has grown to love. He understands the true Violet, but helping her on this path means they might never be together. Can Violet find a way to help this ghost without ruining her own chance at a future free of lies?"

*I am so excited for both of these titles!  2011 is going to be a great year in books!  What are you waiting for?

Sunday, December 5, 2010

In My Mailbox (52)

**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox'is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week.  Here is what I got:

For Review: 
Purpose (Soul Savers #2) by Kristie Cook + signed bookmarks!

Bought:
Stork by Wendy Delsol
Matched by Ally Condie
Goddess Boot Camp by Tera Lynn Childs
The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
Old Magic by Marianne Curley
Swoon by Nina Malkin
Eclipse Two-Disc Special Edition + swag items!!

*Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Winner of The Sapphire Talisman!

Sorry for the delay in posting the winner of The Sapphire Talisman (The Talisman Series Book 2) by Brenda Pandos.  The lucky winner will have a signed copy delivered to them on the book's release date (December 15th)!  The winner was chosen using Random.Org.

And The Winner is.......

Lora 1967 


Congrats!  If you haven't read The Emerald Talisman (book one in the series) then you are missing out! Hurry up and read it so you will be ready for The Sapphire Talisman when it releases on 12/15!  Thanks to Brenda Pandos!!

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Another Awesome Gift from A! (Pretty Little Liars Secret Keepers)


Over the summer I was lucky enough to be invited to participate in the ABCFamily Pretty Little Liars "Secret Keepers Game".  It was a super fun role playing game where I got to play Aria from the show (and the incredible PLL book series by Sara Shepard).  The game ended in June, but 'A' resurfaced via email in October letting the players of the game know that she was sending us gifts that we could use for Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years!  Right before Halloween I received a really cool box that contained a note from 'A' with a clue that lead us to a video with a sneak peek at the new season of Pretty Little Liars that airs in January.  There was also an orange PLL flashlight (used to figure out the clue) and a pumpkin container filled with orange M&Ms that had 'trick or treat' and 'A' written on them.  Well today I came home to a big box on the porch and the label on the outside said it was from "The Little Pie Company of the Big Apple".  When I opened it there was another note from 'A' (see pic) that said "Time to turn up the heat and see what secrets are revealed.  Happy Thanksgiving, Liars. -A"  I noticed that there was a strip of black on the front of the card and I decided to hold a lighter to it to see if any thing would happen.  Well once again a website was revealed that lead you to another sneak peek clip of the new season.  I was super excited when I opened the package and an enormous and MOST delicious looking apple pie with the letter 'A' written all over it appeared!!  Yeah!!  Thanks so much 'A' and ABCFamily!  I can't wait to dig into this!!!!  If you would like to see the exclusive clip, you can check it out HERE! The highly anticipated second season of Pretty Little Liars will premiere on January 3, 2011- so mark your calendars!

Sunday, November 21, 2010

In My Mailbox (51)

**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox'is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week.  Here is what I got:


The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney
Prophecy Of The Sisters by Michelle Zink
Sabotaged (The Missing: Book 3) by Margaret Peterson Haddix

*Now you know what I got! What did you get?

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Review: Plain Kate by Erin Bow

[5stars.jpg]
Plain Kate
Written by Erin Bow
Available Now!!
Published by Scholastic

I first heard about Plain Kate through some of the lucky bloggers that received arc copies at BEA.  I thought that the summary sounded really interesting and I couldn't wait until its release.  This book was totally worth the wait!

Summary from Goodreads:

"The drizzle had broken into patches as they walked. As Drina scooped up the pale sand, Kate found herself standing in the smudge of shadow cast by the deadfall. She had never before noticed the way shadows gave things weight, made them look heavy and real and connected to the ground. Without hers...

She edged into the light.

Her shadow looked strange and thinned. It seemed not cast against the ground, but floating above it, like a fog. What Linay had said was true: No one would notice this, at first. It was just an uneasy little change, like the half-felt movement of a boat that slowly induces a great sickness."


Plain Kate lives in a world of superstitions and curses, where a song can heal a wound and a shadow can work deep magic. As the wood-carver's daughter, Kate held a carving knife before a spoon, and her wooden talismans are so fine that some even call her “witch-blade”: a dangerous nickname in a country where witches are hunted and burned in the square.

For Kate and her village have fallen on hard times. Kate’s father has died, leaving her alone in the world. And a mysterious fog now covers the countryside, ruining crops and spreading fear of hunger and sickness. The townspeople are looking for someone to blame, and their eyes have fallen on Kate.

Enter Linay, a stranger with a proposition: In exchange for her shadow, he’ll give Kate the means to escape the angry town, and what’s more, he’ll grant her heart’s wish. It’s a chance for her to start over, to find a home, a family, a place to belong. But Kate soon realizes she can't live shadowless forever -- and that Linay's designs are darker than she ever dreamed.


My Thoughts:
This book was SO original!  I've read more ya books than I can remember and this book is truly unlike any book I've read before.  Erin Bow's writing style is simple but elegant, to the point, not overly descriptive, yet vivid in that you could picture the story unfolding in your head.  I felt totally transported into Plain Kate's world.  I think one of the strongest facets of the book was the phenomenal job the author did at creating atmosphere.  I became so immersed within the pages that I fully expected to look out the window and see fog rolling in and gray, rainy skies!  The characters were interesting, especially Taggle.  I never thought that I would say that my favorite character from a book would be a cat, but I am actually saying that!  I really enjoyed the way that the author brought Taggle's character to life.  Taggle embodies the characteristics of the most egocentric, self-centered, yet loyal and caring creature EVER, but arn't all cats like that?!  I don't want to say any more about Taggle because I don't want to give anything away- but if you read this book you will love him too!  As for Plain Kate, well she didn't really seem that plain to me.  I liked how she was so self-reliant and independent.  She was definitely dealt a pretty crappy hand in life, but she never really complained about it.  The magical aspects of the story were fun.  I would have liked to have learned more about the magic but overall I was satisfied.  I have to say that it was refreshing to read a stand alone novel.  It seems like EVERY book I've read of late is part of a series.  It was really nice to read a book and have full closure at the end- and the ending was really good!  It didn't wrap everything in a perfect little package, but it satisified all of the major plot points.  Overall, this book was fantastic!  It flows like an old-fashioned folktale.  It is definitely not an action-packed thriller, but will really appeal to readers that love a good story.  Kudos Erin Bow!

Sunday, November 14, 2010

In My Mailbox (50)


**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox'is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week.  Here is what I got:

For Review:

Those That WakeThe Iron QueenThe Betrayal of Maggie BlairThe CellarThe VespertineThe Lipstick Laws
 
The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa (Book 3 in the Iron Fey Series!!! Woot! Woot!)
The Betrayal of Maggie Blair by Elizabeth Laird
The Cellar by A.J. Whitten
The Vespertine by Saundra Mitchell
The Lipstick Laws by Amy Holder
Those That Wake by Jesse Karp

*Thanks to Harlequin Teen, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, and NetGalley!

Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

*Don't miss your chance to enter my giveaway of a signed copy of The Sapphire Talisman by Brenda Pandos!  It the incredible sequel to The Emerald Talisman!  You can find the entry form HERE!

Friday, November 12, 2010

Character Interview: Nicholas from The Emerald Talisman and The Sapphire Talisman & Giveaway!


I am so excited to welcome Nicholas to Extreme Reader Book Reviews! Nicholas is the super-hot half vampire/half human vampire slayer from Brenda Pandos' The Emerald Talisman and the upcoming sequel The Sapphire Talisman.  

 Welcome Nicholas!
 
You and Julia had definitely experienced your fair share of drama when we left you last at the conclusion of The Emerald Talisman. What have you two been up to since all of the action died down? I worry a lot about Julia’s safety, so I prefer to spend time together in private. One can never be too careful. You let your guard down for a second and the vamps can get the upper hand. Though, I have allowed a few risky evening interactions and so far, things have been fine. I’m drawn to Julia and want to be with her all the time. Maybe I’m overly cautious.

There is a lot of mystery surrounding your past. Can you tell us a little about how you were raised? I spent a lot of time with a family friend growing up, well, my Godparents. Imagine a toddler with super human strength and a father who can’t go outside in the daylight. I was a little hard to handle. With great guidance from my Godfather, he channeled my talents into something great and I learned a lot. My Father and I aren’t on the greatest of speaking terms. Our views on life differ greatly.

Your father seems to be a sore subject for you. I am very curious about how you and your father co-exist when you are the infamous vampire slayer and he is a vampire himself. Can you or will you tell us a little about him? If you think I’m conservative, you haven’t met my dad. He’s the total loner and since my mother’s death, he’s tainted against any interaction with humans. My Godparents are the only exception. He maybe able to do it, but I need purpose and some interaction with others.
Does he know about your relationship with Julia? If so, does he approve?
He knows. He doesn’t really approve for Julia’s sake but doesn’t interfere anymore now that I’m an adult.

We know that your mother was given the emerald talisman so she and your father could be together safely. She then gave it to you. Do you know anything about the talisman's original origin?
I don’t know much about it other than someone magically made it so a human could be with a vampire and not be killed by accident. It was passed down and given to my mother for the same purpose. My Father doesn’t talk about it.

Now that you have given it to Julia to ensure her safety, do you find slaying vampires much more difficult?
Not really. They hear me sneak up on them now and smell my presence, but I’m confusing. I smell like a human. But I move fast and react like an immortal. By the time their silly little minds figure out I’m different they are a puff of smoke. It’s really too easy.

Julia has proven to be a little impulsive at times and you seem to be a constant 'voice of reason'. Is there something that you love to do that allows you to loosen up and drop the seriousness for awhile?
Surf and play the guitar.

Thanks so much Nicholas!  


Now it's time for a giveaway!  If you would like to win a copy of The Sapphire Talisman just fill out the form below.  The winner will receive a signed copy when it releases on December 15th!  The contest is open for US/Canada only and will close a Midnight (EST) on Friday, November 26th.

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Waiting On Wednesday

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Jill from Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.  It is always so hard to decide which books I want to feature on Wednesdays.  There are so many wonderful books coming out!  Waiting is such torture!  Here are a few that I am waiting for....

Darkest MercyDarkest Mercy
(Wicked Lovely #5)
Written by Melissa Marr
Release Date: February 22, 2011
Published by HarperCollins

Summary from Goodreads:
"The Summer King is missing; the Dark Court is bleeding; and a stranger walks the streets of Huntsdale, his presence signifying the deaths of powerful fey.

Aislinn tends the Summer Court, searching for her absent king and yearning for Seth. Torn between his new queen and his old love, Keenan works from afar to strengthen his court against the coming war. Donia longs for fiery passion even as she coolly readies the Winter Court for battle. And Seth, sworn brother of the Dark King and heir to the High Queen, is about to make a mistake that could cost his life.

Love, despair, and betrayal ignite the faery courts, and in the final conflict, some will win…and some will lose everything.

The exhilarating conclusion to Melissa Marr’s New York Times bestselling Wicked Lovely series will leave readers breathless."


I am dying for this and I can't wait to see how Melissa Marr ends this series!  This cover is one of the most beautiful I've ever seen!!  COVER LOVE!!!!


The Sapphire Talisman (Talisman, #2)The Sapphire Talisman
(The Talisman Series, Book 2) 
Written by Brenda Pandos
Release Date: December 15, 2010
Published by Obsidian Mountain Publishing

Summary from Goodreads:
"With the local vampire coven decimated, Julia and Nicholas try to begin a somewhat normal life together. Bound by secrecy from a shape shifter determined to see Julia’s world-saving prediction come to fruition, Julia isn’t allowed to tell Nicholas the leader survived, ransacking her happiness with guilt. When Alora returns, bent on revenge, the reunion forces Nicholas and Julia to choose what they are willing to live and die for."

I had the privilege of receiving an arc of this book and I have already devoured it!  My review will be posted soon!   I will also have an interview with the book's hottie, Nicholas, on Friday as a part of the book's blog tour.... so don't miss it!!

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

CSN Product Review Announcement

CSN Stores

I am soooo excited that I was contacted again by CSN to do a product review!!  I LOVE CSN and I will admit that I am guilty of spending hours perusing their 200+ online stores!  You can find just about anything you could possibly want at one of their sites.  Whether you are wanting a new bookshelf or kitchen bar stools , CSN's wide variety of products and superior customer service will make them your go-to site for on-line shopping! I will be posting a new CSN product review soon- so keep an eye out!  In the meantime, if you haven't visited CSN Stores yet.... WHAT ARE YOU WAITING ON??!!  You will not be dissappointed!

Sunday, November 7, 2010

In My Mailbox (49)

**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox'is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week.  Here is what I got:




For Review:
Extraordinary (arc copy) by Nancy Werlin *Thanks Dial Books!

Bought:
Nightshade by Andrea Cremer
The Game by Monica Hughes
Virals by Kathy Reichs
Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin

Other Goodies:
*Signed copy of Intrinsical by Lani Woodland
*Signed Intrinsical bookmarks
*Intrinsical goody bags
*Intrinsical Necklace (Yara's necklace from the book!)
Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly bookmarks

*Intrinsical goodies sent to me by Lani and Pendrell Publishing to use for an upcoming contest!! :)

Friday, November 5, 2010

WINNERS ~ One Year Blogoversary Giveaway!!

http://www.helpmystyle.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/Winners-v21-1024x452.jpg


Wow!  I can't say thank you enough!  I received so many wonderful comments on the entry forms - you guys ROCK!  My first year blogging has been so much fun and I have met so many wonderful people!  I look forward to talking books for many more years with everyone!  But now I am sure you would like to know who won- right?!!  All of the winners were chosen using Random.Org.  I will be emailing all of the winners today!  And they are:

Radiance by Allyson Noel..... Shannon (entry #249)
Reckless by Cornelia Funke..... Orchid (entry #24)
Zen and Zander Undone by Amy Kathleen Ryan... ReaganStar (entry #65)
Manifest by Artist Arthur (arc)..... Ava C. (entry #101)
The Emerald Talisman by Brenda Pandos (arc tour copy)... Carol Wong (entry #83)
Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.... Donnas (entry #232)
Once Dead, Twice Shy by Kim Harrison..... Trillian (entry #127)
Infinite Days by Rebecca Maizel..... Elizabeth (entry #61)
Swag Bag ...... Caitlin (entry #56)

Thanks again to everyone that entered and to everyone that takes time out of their day to read my blog!  Keep a lookout for my next contest (it's a good one!) ~ It should be posting soon!!!

Sunday, October 31, 2010

Last Chance to Enter and IMM!

I hope everyone is having a great weekend!  My 'One Year Blogoversary Giveaway' is ending soon and I wanted to make sure everyone gets a chance to enter.  There are great prizes up for grabs!  I will be closing the contest tomorrow night (midnight EST) ~ so if you haven't entered yet ENTER HERE! 

I also received a few goodies so I figured I would do a short 'In My Mailbox' post too!  I was one of the lucky bloggers chosen to participate in the Pretty Little Liars Secret Keeper Game this past summer sponsored by ABCFamily.  The game was a blast, but since it ended in June, I figured I had heard the last of A.... apparently not!  I received this cute container of M&Ms that say 'trick', 'treat', and 'A', along with a flashlight and note.  The note's clue led you to a sneak peak video clip from the new season of Pretty Little Liars (premieres Jan. 3rd)!  You can view the clip HERE


For Review:
The Exiled Queen by Cinda Williams Chima

Bought (for $1 each!!):
Bog Child by Siobhan Dowd
Alligator Bayou by Donna Jo Napoli

Happy Halloween!  Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

In My Mailbox (48)

**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox'is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week.  I have been super busy this past week and I didn't get a chance to post on Sunday.  I have gotten some AMAZING titles over the past week and a half!  Here's what I got:


For Review:
Extraordinary by Nancy Werlin
The Sapphire Talisman by Brenda Pandos (arc)
Wither by Lauren DeStefano (arc)

Bought:
Misguided Angel by Melissa De La Cruz
Trance by Linda Gerber
Shades of Grey by Jasper FForde
The Morganville Vampires Vol. 2 by Rachel Caine
Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick
Torment by Lauren Kate (gift from an awesome friend!)
The Warrior Princess by Frewin Jones

Goodreads Swap:
The Golem's Eye (The Bartimaeus Trilogy book two) by Jonathan Stroud
Ptolemy's Gate (The Bartimaeus Trilogy book three) by Jonathan Stroud

Swag Goodies:
Bookmarks: The Sapphire Talisman by Brenda Pandos, Virals by Kathy Reichs, Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
Pins: Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

I really hope to return to blogging on a regular basis soon.  This school year has been keeping me really busy and I've had less time to post, but I still have lots of reviews to share and great books to read (and contests to post)!  Don't forget to enter my 'One-Year Blogoversary' contest!  It ends this weekend- so if you haven't entered then click HERE!

Sunday, October 17, 2010

In My Mailbox (47)




**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox'is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week. I had a great week and I got some AMAZING deals on these books!  My local library held its annual Fall Book Sale and I racked up on some oldies but goodies!  I LOVE Christopher Pike and I got quite a few of his books!  I also broke down and bought a few too (I have no willpower when looking at shiny new books!).  I also scored some of my most anticipated YA Novels of 2011 from Netgalley for my Kindle!!  This has got to be one of the BEST book weeks EVER!!!

AfterlifeThe Lying GameUnearthlyDeliriumOnce in a Full MoonAngelfireThe Abused Werewolf Rescue GroupRageHunger


For Review:
Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Unearthly by Cynthia Hand
Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton
The Abused Werewolf Rescue Group by Catherine Jinks
Once In A Full Moon by Ellen Schreiber
Hunger by Jackie Morse Kessler
Rage by Jackie Morse Kessler
Afterlife by Claudia Gray
The Lying Game by Sara Shepard
**Thanks to NetGalley, HarperTeen, Graphia Books, and Harcourt!


Bought:
Elixir by Hilary Duff
The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan
The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod~Ninth Grade Slays by Heather Brewer
The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod~Eleventh Grade Burns by Heather Brewer
Falling by Christopher Pike
I, Coriander by Sally Gardner



Library Book Sale:

Christopher Pike:

Other Books:
Gathering Blue and The Giver by Lois Lowery
The Third Eye by Lois Duncan
Breathless by Lurlene McDaniel
The Castle Corona by Shannon Creech (arc)
Fever 1793 and Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
Criss Cross by Lynne Rae Perkins
StormBreaker by Anthony Horowitz
Gregor The Overlander by Suzanne Collins
Apocalypse by Tim Bowler
Boy Meets Girl by Meg Cabot
Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card


*Now you know what I got!  What did you get?  Don't forget to enter my One Year Blogoversary Giveaway!!  Click HERE to enter!!