Tuesday, May 31, 2011

The Nine Paths To Chloe King: Paths 2 &3

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-AJ7rekxnSFM/Td2WICxjkoI/AAAAAAAAAcU/MUPCsqgpT28/s400/chloe_box_landing_header.jpg

I hope that all of you enjoyed your Memorial Day weekend!  I did plenty of relaxing- which was my goal!  The holiday is over and I am once again back on my quest to find The Uniter!  I received a mysterious package from the Fedex guy today and was surprised to see that it was from ABC Family.  Another clue!!  Inside the black jewelry box with a small note that had Mai symbols on one side and on the other it read: "To unmask the ancient Mai script, seek the Bastet in your Book of Mai.  A secret waits beneath.  Tweet the decoded message using #TheUniter."  There was also a silver cat charm included in the box!  So I went to the Book of Mai and used the Mai alphabet to decode the symbols on the clue card and it said : The Uniter is Chloe King.  PATH 3 COMPLETED!


Path 2 clues were given to me on Friday and they lead me to a YouTube video about the Mai.  You can check out the video HERE.

Don't forget that you can play The Nine Paths To Chloe King along with me!  You will have the opportunity to win some prizes and maybe even score the GRAND PRIZE.... a trip to the set of The Nine Lives of Chloe King!  I will also be providing you secret code words a few times throughout the 3 week game that will unlock free gifts and extras for you- so keep an eye out on my site or in the Storify feed box on the game's web page.  Click HERE if you would like to play.

Here is a sneak peek at ABC Family original series The Nine Lives of Chloe King which premieres on June 14th at 9/8c!  Enjoy!!

Wednesday, May 25, 2011

Do You Want To Play "The Nine Paths To Chloe King" With Me & ABC Family???

 I received an email from ABC Family last week inviting me to participate in The Nine Paths To Chloe King game!  This game is a three week online adventure leading up to the premiere of the ABC Family original series 'The Nine Lives of Chloe King.  The show will debut on Tuesday, June 14th at 9/8c on ABC Family so make sure to set your DVRs.  I am so excited because I had so much fun last summer participating in the Pretty Little Liars Secret Keeper Game!  I received my Game Box yesterday and all I can say is.....  SQUEEEEEE!!!!!!  Take a look!



The box itself is awesome!  It is wooden with the Mai symbols carved on the top and when you slide the top off the underside of the lid has the show's logo carved in it.  The box contained a MaiPad ... aka~ an iPad 2 (WOW!!) loaded with information that will help me on my journey down the nine paths.  There were also various other items/clues that I will need as the game progresses.  I think that the coolest aspect of this game is that YOU (my lovely FOLLOWERS) get to play along and score prizes too!!!  The game started yesterday and unfortunately I was unable to get this post up until today because of work obligations, but don't fret because there is still time to join in the fun and maybe even claim a prize!  Here is how it works (I copied this info from the game's website):

On June 14th, 1995, a prophecy was discovered on a stone tablet in a remote cave near the Red Sea. Etched into this stone were Nine Paths -- instructions that lead the way to an amazing someone, known to many as The Uniter. Written in our ancient tongue, this Nine Paths Prophecy clearly states that we, the Mai, must first contact a select group of Humans — the Circle of Strangers.

It is written, "The Circle of Strangers must travel all Nine Paths in order to find The Uniter and help deliver a message of life or death."

You are a part of this select Circle. Only this group of humans can travel these Nine Paths and lead us to the one. We are honored that you stepped forward to take this journey, and we will do our best to guide you.

Every few days clues will be posted that will keep you traveling down the Nine Paths -- these paths will start at abcfamily.com but take you across the internet and give you exclusive videos, photos, and more.

The first person to correctly execute the Nine Paths will win the GRAND PRIZE (subject to verification): a set visit to The Nine Lives of Chloe King !*

*Additionally, keep an eye on the Storify feed at the bottom on the game's website that will have posts from the network of participating bloggers (THAT WOULD BE ME!! :) The bloggers will be unlocking some free gifts (available while supplies last) and extras for you!!  You'll just need to check out my post on each of the nine path challenges I have solved and I will be giving you the secret code that you will need to claim your gift!  Just check out the site HERE!
Path One: Completed!!!

I completed the task for the first path and the reward for that is the secret code word my Lovely Followers will need to claim the first prize (while supplies last) and a peek at The Uniter Scroll!  The code word is Circle.  Just head to the game's website and look on the sidebar for the spot to enter the secret code word.  The Uniter Scroll is pictured below, so make sure to check it out too!

This game is going to be lots of fun, so I hope you will play along with me!  Welcome to the Circle!

Sunday, May 22, 2011

Review: Griffin Rising by Darby Karchut

Griffin Rising [5stars.jpg]
Griffin Rising
Written by Darby Karchut
Release Date: June 28, 2011
Published by Twilight Times Books
 *Arc copy provided by the author in exchange for an honest review


Summary from Goodreads:
"For Griffin, it’s time to angel up.
Armed with the power to control the ancient elements of Earth and Fire, sixteen year old Griffin is determined to complete his apprenticeship and rise to the rank of Terra Angeli.
But first, he must overcome a brutal past if he is to survive in this world. Will the perseverance of his mentor and the love of a mortal girl give Griffin the strength he needs to triumph over the monster still haunting him?"


My Thoughts:
This was a really heartwarming book!  Darby Karchut's debut novel is not only about Guardian Angels, but on a deeper level it seems to be about the journey of self discovery.  Griffin's story had me wiping my eyes at times and laughing out loud at others.  The story chronicles Griffin's journey from the tragic start of his apprenticeship as a Terrae Angeli or Guardian Angel to his final test, the Prolieum.  I am a huge fan of Angel-themed books and this one is fantastic!  It was a fresh take on Guardian Angels and had such an original storyline mixed with memorable characters.  Darby Karchut did an incredible job developing these characters.  Griffin was just so darn lovable!  He was battling the emotional demons stemming from his abusive past with his first Mentor, but lucky for Griffin, he was placed with a new Mentor named Basil.  Basil had a loving and capable hand where Griffin was concerned and this enabled Griffin to emerge from his shell and blossom into what he was destined to be.  Griffin's vulnerability was endearing and his dedication to his destiny was admirable.  The changes that take place in Griffin are no doubt in response to Basil's patience, understanding, and the father figure relationship he forged with Griffin.  I really enjoyed the banter between the two of them too.  It had me snickering throughout the book!  Griffin also goes through another change when a new family moves in across the street.  Much to Griffin's liking, the family has a daughter the same age as him- and she is cute!  Griffin falls for the new girl (Katie) and the romance that sparks between them was both sweet and innocent.  It brought me back to how it felt to be a young teen discovering love in all its awkward glory! 

I liked the manner in which Darby Karchut wrote the book.  Each chapter was a journal entry from one of the main characters (Griffin, Basil, or Katie) and this type of story structure really seemed to allow the reader to get to know each character on a deeper level.  The story ended with a surprising twist that left me craving the next book in the series in a big way!  I would highly recommend this book to all that enjoy Angel stories!  It is a really quick read that should appeal to young teen readers as well as adult readers!  Congrats to Darby Karchut on a wonderful debut!

Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Review: Hourglass by Myra McEntire

Hourglass[5stars.jpg]
Hourglass
Written by Myra McEntire
Release Date: June 14, 2011
Published by EgmontUSA
*Arc provided by AmazonVine in exchange for an honest review
 
Summary from Goodreads:
"One hour to rewrite the past . . .
 
For seventeen-year-old Emerson Cole, life is about seeing what isn’t there: swooning Southern Belles; soldiers long forgotten; a haunting jazz trio that vanishes in an instant. Plagued by phantoms since her parents’ death, she just wants the apparitions to stop so she can be normal. She’s tried everything, but the visions keep coming back.
So when her well-meaning brother brings in a consultant from a secretive organization called the Hourglass, Emerson’s willing to try one last cure. But meeting Michael Weaver may not only change her future, it may change her past.
Who is this dark, mysterious, sympathetic guy, barely older than Emerson herself, who seems to believe every crazy word she says? Why does an electric charge seem to run through the room whenever he’s around? And why is he so insistent that he needs her help to prevent a death that never should have happened?

Full of atmosphere, mystery, and romance, Hourglass merges the very best of the paranormal and science-fiction genres in a seductive, remarkable young adult debut.
"

My Thoughts:
Hourglass was such interesting book!  It was a little slow to start but after a few chapters I was hooked!  The cover is to die for and I have been in cover lust since I first laid eyes on it.  I started reading the book unsure of what it was really about.  The summary on the book jacket doesn't really let on to the theme and I have to say that I enjoyed the surprise (So I won't spoil it for you either!).  I will say that the plot was full of unexpected twists and Myra McEntire did a fabulous job keeping the reader guessing.  The characters in the book where developed nicely and all of them (minus her brother and sister-in-law) had secrets and hidden layers.  The secrets came to light as the story progressed but there are still many that have yet to be revealed (hello book two!).  The main protagonist Emerson was really cool.  She seemed like someone that I would like to be friends with.  She carried a ton of emotional baggage due to tragedies in her past.  She also struggled to come to terms with her 'gift' and her total lack of knowledge as to what it was and what all of it meant.  Even through all of that she still pushed forward.  She was really strong and tried so hard to do what was best for all of those around her.  When she meets Michael her world does a complete 180!  Ahhh.... Michael!!  The gorgeous, caring, chivalrous knight in shining armor!  He had all of the answers to the burning questions Emerson has been searching for.  The answers, however, do not come easy.  Michael is complicated and also very hard to read, but Emerson is inexplicably drawn to him (as he is to her).  Once the two of them meet she is thrust into one seriously crazy power struggle with consequences that are more far-reaching than you can imagine!  I had no idea how the book was going to end until I actually read the ending- and I love that!  There was a surprise plot twist every time I thought I had it figured out.  I was satisfied with how everything was left, but it has me seriously pining for the next book!  I recommend this book to EVERYONE!  If you love a good story, interesting plot, great characters, and a surprise around every corner then this book is the book for you!!  An absolutely stunning debut from Myra McEntire!!

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Review: Blood Magic by Tessa Gratton

Blood Magic (Blood Journals, #1)
Blood Magic
(The Blood Journals #1)
Written by Tessa Gratton
Release Date: May 24, 2011
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers
*arc provided by Amazon Vine in exchange for an honest review

Summary from Goodreads:
"This page-turning debut novel will entice fans who like their paranormal romances dark and disturbing. It's a natural next-read for fans of Stephanie Meyer, Carrie Jones, and Becca Fitzpatrick. But instead of mythical creatures, blood magic has everything to do with primal human desires like power, wealth, and immortality.

Everywhere Silla Kennicott turns she sees blood. She can't stop thinking about her parents alleged murder-suicide. She is consumed by a book filled with spells that arrives mysteriously in the mail. The spells share one common ingredient: blood, and Silla is more than willing to cast a few. What's a little spilled blood if she can uncover the truth? And then there's Nick—the new guy at school who makes her pulse race. He has a few secrets of his own and is all too familiar with the lure of blood magic. Drawn together by a combination of fate and chemistry, Silla and Nick must find out who else in their small Missouri town knows their secret and will do anything to take the book and magic from Silla.
"


My Thoughts:
After you read this book you will never look at your blood in the same way again!  I really enjoyed reading Blood Magic! The plot was so original and had enough twists and turns in it to give you whiplash! Magic, romance, danger, suspense, murder, and the quest for immortality made it difficult to put down and kept me reading way too late into the night.  I felt like I really got to know the characters and I felt connected to them.  The chapters alternated points of view between Silla and Nick, as well as occasional journal entries from other characters.  I like this style of writing and I feel that it adds to the character's development. Silla and Nick were my favorite characters.  Silla was dealing with some heavy emotions and the discovery of her 'magic' was the spark that brought her back to life.  Nick was just a really cool guy.  He was not as easy to figure out as Silla and their relationship was very natural and sweet.  I really enjoyed the unexpected plot twists!  It was hard to figure out who the villain was!  I have to say that when it was finally revealed I was very surprised!  The pace of the book was fast enough to keep you engaged, but not so fast that you feel that the story is rushed.  Tessa Gratton did a great job with the setting and tone of the book.  I could easily picture everything in my head, especially the graveyard that is the central point of most of the important events in the story.  I would highly recommend Blood Magic to readers that enjoyed books like Beautiful Creatures and Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl or anyone that likes a good gothic romance!  It is a stunning debut novel and I can't wait for the next installment in The Blood Journals series!

Sunday, May 15, 2011

In My Mailbox (67)


In My Mailbox is a weekly post that allows us to share the books we received during the week.  This is a couple of weeks worth of book goodness!  Here's what I got:


For Review:
Blood Red Road by Moira Young
Hourglass by Myra McEntire
Blood Magic by Tessa Gratton

Bought/Swap:
After Midnight by Lynn Viehl
Shift by Jeri Smith-Ready
Dark Mirror by M.J. Putney
Remember Me by Christopher Pike
Die For Me by Amy Plum
Abandon by Meg Cabot
Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier
Entwined by Heather Dixon
Marvelous World: The Marvelous Effect by Troy Cle
Kiss of Life by Daniel Waters
Gone by Lisa McMann

*Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Winners of The Spring Blog Carnival Giveaways!!!

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-xnN4B6PKIuM/Tb6orQ8zYbI/AAAAAAAAFRQ/_Ek1Yfplxi4/s1600/carnivaltitle1.png
I am so excited to announce the winners of both of my Spring Blog Carnival Giveaways!  I would like to thank the wonderful hosts of the Carnival- Candace's Book Blog, Reading Angel, Pure Imagination, and The Book Swarm!  They put a lot of work into making this Carnival so much fun!  And now on to the winners!!!

*All winners chosen by Random.Org and will be notified by email*
The winner of The Spring Blog Carnival Hop Giveaway and now the owner of an arc of Clarity by Kim Harrington, The Demon's Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan, and Aurelia by Anne Osterlund plus some assorted swag goodies is.....
Cialina!!!

The winner of The Spring Blog Carnival Challenge: Guessing Booth and now the owner of a signed copy of Evernight by Claudia Gray, an arc of Chime by Franny Billingsley and a swag pack is....

 The Book Pixie!!!

*Here are the answers to the cover collage challenge:
  1. After Obsession by Carrie Jones and Steven Wedel
  2. Luminous by Dawn Metcalf
  3. Eve by Anna Carey
  4. The Faerie Ring by Kiki Hamilton
  5. Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  6. Indelible by Lani Woodland
  7. Frost by Wendy Delsol
  8. Wildefire by Karsten Knight
  9. Fury by Elizabeth Miles

I would like to thank all of you for entering and dropping by my blog!  I am still collecting goodies for my next giveaway and it is going to be EPIC- so make sure you check back soon!

Friday, May 6, 2011

Spring Blog Carnival Challenge: Guessing Booth!

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-xnN4B6PKIuM/Tb6orQ8zYbI/AAAAAAAAFRQ/_Ek1Yfplxi4/s1600/carnivaltitle1.png
?*?*? GUESSING BOOTH ?*?*?
On your way through the carnival why not try your luck at The Guessing Booth?  What's in it for you?  If you can guess the names of the upcoming 2011 YA covers below then you will be entered to win an AWESOME prize pack!  The contents of the prize pack are as follows:

  • *SIGNED* copy of Evernight by Claudia Gray
  • arc of Chime by Franny Billingsley
  • SWAG Pack: signed (Claudia Gray) The Dark Days of Supernatural tour bookmark, The Faerie Ring by Kiki Hamilton postcard & signed bookmark, signed Possession by Elana Johnson bookmark, signed OyMG by Amy Fellner Dominy bookmark, signed The Emerald Talisman and The Sapphire Talisman by Brenda Pandos bookmarks, Matched by Ally Condie bookmark, The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff bookmark, The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa bookmark, Angel Star and Lemniscate by Jennifer Murgia bookmark, Class of 2K11 bookmark
To have a chance at the prize pack you must take a guess at the titles of the upcoming 2011 books in the collage.  The entry form will have spaces for your answers.  You don't have to guess correctly to win but it will gain you an extra point!!  International entries are welcome as always!

Fill out the form below with your answers and hit submit!




 
Make sure to enter my hop giveaway!  You can win an arc of Clarity by Kim Harrington, The Demon's Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan, and Aurelia by Anne Osterlund- plus some swag!  Click HERE to enter.
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-WRBBR6zJabY/Tbqc3fkl6dI/AAAAAAAAFRE/7aDNzZstdEY/s1600/carnivaltitle1.png
Spring Blog Carnival is Hosted by
Candace’s Book Blog http://www.candacesbookblog/, Reading Angel http://www.readingangel.com/, Pure Imagination http://www.pureimaginationblog.com/, and The Book Swarm http://www.bookswarm.blogspot.com/

May 1st-

Reading Angel: Haunted House
Reading Teen: Fortune Tellers Booth

May 2nd-

Candace’s Book Blog: Food Court
The Mod Podge Bookshelf: House of Mirrors

May 3rd-

The Book Swarm: Roller Coaster
Actin’ Up With Books: Karaoke Booth

May 4th-

Pure Imagination: Kissing Booth
Lovely Lit: Once Upon a Time Booth

May 5th-

Awesomesauce Books: Gaming Booth
Books R Us: Medieval Booth

May 6th-

Extreme Reader Book Reviews: Guessing Booth (That's Me!!:)
Colloquium: Cotton Candy Booth

May 7th-

The Minding Spot: Teacups Booth
Miss Remmers Review: It’s a Bad World Booth

*Don't forget to enter all of the other giveaways participating in the Blog Hop!

Sunday, May 1, 2011

Spring Blog Carnival Giveaway Hop

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-WRBBR6zJabY/Tbqc3fkl6dI/AAAAAAAAFRE/7aDNzZstdEY/s1600/carnivaltitle1.png

I am so excited to be participating in The Spring Blog Carnival that is being sponsored  by Candace's Book Blog, Reading Angel, Pure Imagination, and The Book Swarm.  This giveaway is part of the giveaway hop!  Here is what is up for grabs from me:



Clarity by Kim Harrington (arc copy)
The Demon's Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan
Aurelia by Anne Osterlund

Details:
The giveaway will run until midnight, May 8th.  This contest is open internationally.  Please fill out the form below:





 Don't forget to enter all of the fun Carnival Challenges!
May 1st-
Reading Angel: Haunted House
Reading Teen: Fortune Tellers Booth

May 2nd-
Candace’s Book Blog: Food Court
The Mod Podge Bookshelf: House of Mirrors

May 3rd-
The Book Swarm: Roller Coaster
Actin’ Up With Books: Karaoke Booth

May 4th-
Pure Imagination: Kissing Booth
Lovely Lit: Once Upon a Time Booth

May 5th-
Awesomesauce Books: Gaming Booth
Books R Us: Medieval Booth

May 6th-
Extreme Reader Book Reviews: Guessing Booth
Colloquium: Cotton Candy Booth

May 7th-
The Minding Spot: Teacups Booth
Miss Remmers Review: It’s a Bad World Booth

Don't forget to enter all of the other giveaways that are part of the hop too!!