Sunday, October 31, 2010

Last Chance to Enter and IMM!

I hope everyone is having a great weekend!  My 'One Year Blogoversary Giveaway' is ending soon and I wanted to make sure everyone gets a chance to enter.  There are great prizes up for grabs!  I will be closing the contest tomorrow night (midnight EST) ~ so if you haven't entered yet ENTER HERE! 

I also received a few goodies so I figured I would do a short 'In My Mailbox' post too!  I was one of the lucky bloggers chosen to participate in the Pretty Little Liars Secret Keeper Game this past summer sponsored by ABCFamily.  The game was a blast, but since it ended in June, I figured I had heard the last of A.... apparently not!  I received this cute container of M&Ms that say 'trick', 'treat', and 'A', along with a flashlight and note.  The note's clue led you to a sneak peak video clip from the new season of Pretty Little Liars (premieres Jan. 3rd)!  You can view the clip HERE

For Review:
The Exiled Queen by Cinda Williams Chima

Bought (for $1 each!!):
Bog Child by Siobhan Dowd
Alligator Bayou by Donna Jo Napoli

Happy Halloween!  Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

In My Mailbox (48)

**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox'is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week.  I have been super busy this past week and I didn't get a chance to post on Sunday.  I have gotten some AMAZING titles over the past week and a half!  Here's what I got:

For Review:
Extraordinary by Nancy Werlin
The Sapphire Talisman by Brenda Pandos (arc)
Wither by Lauren DeStefano (arc)

Misguided Angel by Melissa De La Cruz
Trance by Linda Gerber
Shades of Grey by Jasper FForde
The Morganville Vampires Vol. 2 by Rachel Caine
Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick
Torment by Lauren Kate (gift from an awesome friend!)
The Warrior Princess by Frewin Jones

Goodreads Swap:
The Golem's Eye (The Bartimaeus Trilogy book two) by Jonathan Stroud
Ptolemy's Gate (The Bartimaeus Trilogy book three) by Jonathan Stroud

Swag Goodies:
Bookmarks: The Sapphire Talisman by Brenda Pandos, Virals by Kathy Reichs, Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
Pins: Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

I really hope to return to blogging on a regular basis soon.  This school year has been keeping me really busy and I've had less time to post, but I still have lots of reviews to share and great books to read (and contests to post)!  Don't forget to enter my 'One-Year Blogoversary' contest!  It ends this weekend- so if you haven't entered then click HERE!

Sunday, October 17, 2010

In My Mailbox (47)

**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox'is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week. I had a great week and I got some AMAZING deals on these books!  My local library held its annual Fall Book Sale and I racked up on some oldies but goodies!  I LOVE Christopher Pike and I got quite a few of his books!  I also broke down and bought a few too (I have no willpower when looking at shiny new books!).  I also scored some of my most anticipated YA Novels of 2011 from Netgalley for my Kindle!!  This has got to be one of the BEST book weeks EVER!!!

AfterlifeThe Lying GameUnearthlyDeliriumOnce in a Full MoonAngelfireThe Abused Werewolf Rescue GroupRageHunger

For Review:
Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Unearthly by Cynthia Hand
Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton
The Abused Werewolf Rescue Group by Catherine Jinks
Once In A Full Moon by Ellen Schreiber
Hunger by Jackie Morse Kessler
Rage by Jackie Morse Kessler
Afterlife by Claudia Gray
The Lying Game by Sara Shepard
**Thanks to NetGalley, HarperTeen, Graphia Books, and Harcourt!

Elixir by Hilary Duff
The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan
The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod~Ninth Grade Slays by Heather Brewer
The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod~Eleventh Grade Burns by Heather Brewer
Falling by Christopher Pike
I, Coriander by Sally Gardner

Library Book Sale:

Christopher Pike:

Other Books:
Gathering Blue and The Giver by Lois Lowery
The Third Eye by Lois Duncan
Breathless by Lurlene McDaniel
The Castle Corona by Shannon Creech (arc)
Fever 1793 and Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
Criss Cross by Lynne Rae Perkins
StormBreaker by Anthony Horowitz
Gregor The Overlander by Suzanne Collins
Apocalypse by Tim Bowler
Boy Meets Girl by Meg Cabot
Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card

*Now you know what I got!  What did you get?  Don't forget to enter my One Year Blogoversary Giveaway!!  Click HERE to enter!!

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Waiting On Wednesday

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Jill from Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.  It is always so hard to decide which books I want to feature on Wednesdays.  There are so many wonderful books coming out this year.  Waiting is such torture!  Here are a few that I am waiting for....

Born at MidnightBorn At Midnight
Written by C.C. Hunter
Release Date: March 29, 2011
Published by St. Martin's Griffin

Summary from Goodreads:
"Kylie Galen has had a lot of crap tossed in her lap. Her parents are getting a divorce. Her boyfriend broke up with her because she wouldn’t put out. Her grandmother died and now Kylie’s acquired a stalker. Unfortunately, she’s the only one who seems to be able to see the stalker. And that gets her sent to a psychologist’s sofa.

The kooky psychologist gets Kylie sent to Shadow Falls Camp. Kylie and her parents think it’s a camp for troubled teens.

They thought wrong.

It’s a camp of supernaturals: vampires, werewolves, fairies, witches and shape shifters. And if she believes the camp leader, Kylie is one of them, too.

Just because she’s seeing ghosts, just because she was born at midnight, does that really mean she’s not human? And if so, what is she? Not even the other supernaturals can tell her.

As Kylie attempts to cope with the realization that these creatures actually exist, and that she might even be one of them, the ever present stalker/ghost appears to have secrets that could unravel the mystery of Kylie’s identity and her destiny.

But getting a ghost to open up is as hard as getting a guy to talk about his feelings.

As Kylie struggles to find answers, two hot guys, a werewolf and a half-fairy vie for her attention. However, Kylie’s determined that before she lets her heart discover a new love, she needs to solve her indentify crisis and unearth the truth of her destiny."

Human .4Human .4
Written by Mike A. Lancaster
Release Date: March 8, 2011
Published by EgmontUSA

Summary from Goodreads:
"The Millgrove talent show has the same performances as any other small town — a cheesy ventriloquist, off-key karaoke singers, and bad dance routines. But after Kyle Straker is hypnotized as part of his friend’s mysterious new act, Millgrove will never be the same again.

When Kyle an
d the other volunteers awaken, the entire audience, the entire town, and possibly the entire world, is frozen still. Telephones, radios, televisions, and computers no longer work— only a strange language flashes across the screens. When everybody
suddenly wakes up, it becomes clear that they have changed—and that Kyle is now an outsider, one of the 0.4.

Is Kyle still under hypnosis, or is this chilling new world real? Will he awaken from a dream to roars of laughter, or is there something much more sinister happening?

One of the last of his kind, Kyle records his story on a series of cassette tapes, describing the shift, and what it means for the future of mankind."

These books look like they are going to be worth the wait!  What are you waiting for? 

Sunday, October 10, 2010

**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox' is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week.  I am trying to cut down on the number of books that I purchase for awhile because I have SOOOO many that I need to read.  However, I saw these three books at a discount store for $3 a piece and I couldn't resist such a good deal for hardcovers!

Unbelievable by Sara Shepard
The Order of Odd Fish by James Kennedy

Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

*Don't miss out on entering my One Year Blogoversary Giveaway!  Lots of great prizes and lots of winners!  Enter HERE!

*I am also hosting the blog tour for Intrinsical by Lani Woodland!  If you are interested in reading and reviewing this AMAZING ya paranormal thriller then go HERE to register!!

Friday, October 8, 2010

One Year Blogoversary Giveaway!!

It is hard to believe that it has been one year!!  I did my first post on August 31, 2009 and had no idea what I was doing!  I want to thank all of you for making my blog what it is today- I couldn't have done it without you!  I LOVE giveaways and since this is a big milestone, I figured I would make this a BIG giveaway!  As always, this giveaway is open to all my followers (international entries welcome)!  The contest will end on October 31st at midnight (EST).  Thanks again to all of you.  I have made some wonderful friends through my blog and look forward to meeting more!  So here is what's up for grabs:

Radiance by Allyson Noel
Reckless by Cornelia Funke
Zen and Zander Undone by Amy Kathleen Ryan
Manifest by Artist Arthur (arc)
The Emerald Talisman (arc-used copy from arc tour but good condition)
Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
Once Dead, Twice Shy by Kim Harrison
Infinite Days by Rebecca Maizel
*Swag Bag ~ Forgive My Fins bookmark, Oh.My.Gods and Goddess Bootcamp bookmark , temporary tattoo, pins and a signed Tera Lynn Childs bookplate, Forget-Her-Nots bookmark, Mockingjay temporary tattoo, a signed Shadow Hills poster and pin, The Dead-Tossed Waves sticker and a signed Carrie Ryan bookplate, Intrinsical bookmark, and a signed The Emerald Talisman card!!!

There will be 9 winners!  Just fill out the form below.  I may be adding more prizes if possible- so don't miss your opportunity to win!

Thursday, October 7, 2010

Intrinsical by Lani Woodland ~ Blog Tour Sign-Up!!

I am so excited to be able to offer a wonderful opportunity to my fellow bloggers!  I am teaming up with Lani Woodland and sending Intrinsical out on tour!  This is an AMAZING book and you definitely don't want to miss this opportunity.  Thanks to the bloggers that have already signed up- I will be contacting you soon about the tour schedule.  If you are a blogger that lives in the US and you are interested in participating in the tour, just head over to my original post that contains my 5 starred review of the book and the sign-up form.  Just click HERE!  Thanks!

Sunday, October 3, 2010

In My Mailbox (45)

**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox' is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week. I have been without internet for almost two weeks, so I have some catching up to do!  If you didn't get a chance to see my post yesterday (Intrinsical by Lani Woodland Arc Tour Sign-Ups) then please check it out HERE.  I have an extra review copy of Intrinsical that is just waiting to be sent off to its first stop!  If you would like to read and review Intrinsical just fill out the form located at the bottom of yesterday's post.  Here is my haul for the past two weeks:

For Review:
Intrinsical by Lani Woodland and bookmarks (one copy for me to review and one to send out on tour-Thanks Lani!)  *5 star review here
Spray by Harry Edge (Thanks Ksenia @ Macmillan!)

Crave by JR Ward
End of Days (Night Runner #2) by Max Turner ...Woot!Woot!!
Empty by Suzanne Weyn
Reckless by Cornelia Funke
The Tomorrow Code by Brian Falkner
Personal Demons by Lisa Desrochers
Thirst No.3 by Christopher Pike...YEAH!!!
Suck It Up by Brian Meehl

*Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

Saturday, October 2, 2010

Intrinsical ~ Blog Tour Sign-Ups and Review!!!!!

Written by Lani Woodland
Available Now!!!
Published by Pendrell Publishing
*arc provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
 If you love a good ghost story.... I have found the book for you!  Not only is the cover 'to die for', but the story is original and engaging!  I am so excited about this book that I am teaming up with the author, Lani Woodland, to offer other bloggers a chance to read and review the book.  We are sending Intrinsical out on tour (US Only)!  Please read the book's summary and my review and if you like what you read and want the opportunity to read and review it yourself, then be sure to fill out the form at the bottom of this post. This book tour will operate like an arc tour:  you receive the book- read the book- review the book- and mail it to the next blogger on the list. I really enjoyed the book and I know you guys will too!!  Don't miss this opportunity to read an incredible book and support an amazing debut author!

Summary from Goodreads:
"Sixteen-year-old Yara Silva has always known that ghosts walk alongside the living. Her grandma, like the other females in her family, is a Waker, someone who can see and communicate with ghosts. Yara grew up watching her grandmother taunted and scorned for this unusual ability and doesn't want that to be her future. She has been dreading the day when she too would see ghosts, and is relieved that the usually dominant Waker gene seems to have skipped her, letting her live a normal teenage life. However, all that changes for Yara on her first day at her elite boarding school when she discovers the gene was only lying dormant. She witnesses a dark mist attack Brent, a handsome fellow student, and rushes to his rescue. Her act of heroism draws the mist's attention, and the dark spirit begins stalking her. Yara finds herself entrenched in a sixty-year-old curse that haunts the school, threatening not only her life, but the lives of her closest friends as well. Yara soon realizes that the past she was trying to put behind her isn't going to go quietly."

My Thoughts:
Obviously you know I L-O-V-E this book!  It's pages were full of suspense, intrigue, and action.  The plot was fast-paced and original, forcing me to turn pages late into the night.  Lani Woodland did a fantastic job creating interesting characters that I found easy to connect with and care for.  The main character, Yara, wanted to be 'normal' and had spent her life denying and avoiding her family's heritage.  She was afraid of being labeled 'crazy' like her grandmother.  However, she enrolls at Pendrell (an elite boarding school with a rumored curse) and finds herself in the middle of a supernatural showdown!  As the story unfolds, Yara's character undergoes a spiritual 'extreme makeover'.  She is thrust into a battle against dark forces as the lines between life and death begin to blur.  With her special talents awakening, Yara begins to understand who she really is and what she is capable of doing in order to protect herself and those she cares for.  I really liked Yara.  Her character was genuine and believable and the 'Waker' abilities were a neat spin on the classic "I can see dead people" paranormal storyline.  The romance between Yara and Brent was sweet and innocent.  I did find myself frustrated at times as both Yara and Brent tried to deny what they were feeling for one another, but I guess it makes the growing love between them more realistic.  Lani did a great job at keeping the reader guessing!  Just when I thought I had it all figured out something different would happen!  The ending gave satisfying closure to the events in the book.  I do hope we haven't seen the last of Yara, Brent, and the rest of characters!  Congrats to Lani Woodland for writing such an impressive debut!  I look forward to reading more from her!!

Intrinsical Tour Sign-up
Are you are interested in reading and reviewing Intrinsical by Lani Woodland?  If so, then just fill out the form below.  This tour is limited to US residents and bloggers 13 years of age or older.  I will be contacting all of the bloggers that sign up to verify their contact information.  Thanks for supporting Lani and I hope you enjoy Intrinsical as much as I did!!