Tuesday, August 31, 2010

WINNERS!!!


It is hard to believe that summer break is over and school is back in session!  My summer break always goes by so fast that I'm left wondering what the heck happened to it!  I do have some good news for three lucky followers that should ease the pain of a new school year... they are winners in my 'Back To School Giveaway'!  Before I announce the winners, I do want to acknowledge that TODAY is my ONE YEAR BLOGOVERSARY!!!  I cannot believe that a year has come and gone.  I have really enjoyed being a part of this wonderful community of book lovers and I look forward to many more anniversaries!  I am in the process of planning a celebration of sorts that will include an AWESOME giveaway (of course) and some other 'to be announced' plans.  So keep checking back with me for updates.  So here is what you have been waiting for.... THE WINNERS:(Chosen by Random.Org)

*The winner of a hardcover copy of Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins is... Jessi @ The Elliot Review!

*The winner of Infinite Days by Rebecca Maizel is... Rodolfo @ By the way, dude!

*The winner of Oh.My.Gods and Goddess Bootcamp by Tera Lynn Childs is... Parajunkee @ Parajunkee's View!

~Congrats to all of the winners!  I will be contacting you by email later in the evening.  Thanks again to all that entered.  I truly appreciate each and every follower- you guys ROCK!!

Sunday, August 29, 2010

In My Mailbox (42) and Update!

http://www.nataliedee.com/061105/hey-whale.jpg


I am including this little update before my IMM post because I wanted to let you guys know that I haven't disappeared again... at least not permanently!  Unfortunately, my summer break (aka... much needed hiatus from all teacher related activities!) is now over and I'm back at work.  As usual, the two weeks prior to the students returning have been really hectic.  I have had very little time to do anything bloggish!  In addition to all of my 'back to school' craziness, my son started kindergarten this week!  I am such a proud mom and I just couldn't resist including a picture of him on his first day!

I will be announcing the winners of my 'Back To School' giveaway on August 31st (Wednesday)!  If you haven't entered, then you'd better do it soon!  It's open to all followers (international entries welcome).   There are some killer prizes up for grabs~ a copy of Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins, a copy of Infinite Days by Rebecca Maizel, and both Oh. My. Gods and Goddess Bootcamp by Tera Lynn Childs.  You can find the entry form HERE.

I have lots of things on the agenda concerning the blog in the upcoming few weeks.  My one year blogoversary is August 31st!  I can't believe that it has already been a year!  I really want to do something special in celebration of this milestone and as a thank you to all of the wonderful readers that keep me coming back here!  Stay tuned for details.  There are many reviews on the to-do list as well!  I have around 9 books with half written reviews to finish, so as you can see.... there is plenty to do!  Thanks for being patient.

**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox' is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week.  I had a GREAT week and I am very excited about reading and reviewing these titles!!  Here is what I got:

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
The Frenzy (arc) by Francesca Lia Block
Dark Song (arc) by Gail Giles
Immortal Beloved (arc) by Cate Tiernan
*I also won a really cool Mockingjay sticker that glows in the dark from WordForTeens! Thanks!!!

Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

Saturday, August 21, 2010

In My Mailbox (41)

*Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM!


In My Mailbox is a weekly post that spotlights the new books you received during the week.  Have a look at what I received this week:

Bought:
The Ghost And The Goth by Stacey Kade
Sleepless by Cyn Balog
Demon From The Dark by Kresley Cole

Trade:
Warped (arc) by Maurissa Guibord

Goodreads Bookswap:
Still Missing (arc) by Chevy Stevens

Other Bookish Goodies:
*Preview Booklet of Monster High by Lisi Harrison
*Mockingjay keychain and bookmark
*not pictured~ Shadow Hills signed poster

*Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Waiting On Wednesday

http://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs295.ash1/22270_261089632239_238691017239_3170056_2105382_t.jpg
"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Jill from Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.  It is always so hard to decide which books I want to feature on Wednesdays.  There are so many wonderful books coming out this year.  Waiting is such torture!  Here are a few that I am waiting for....


The FrenzyThe Frenzy
Written by Francesca Lia Block
Release Date: September 28, 2010
Published by HarperTeen

Synopsis:
"Love is a werewolf, influenced by the moon and terror, and always about to change... 
Something terrifying happened to Liv when she was thirteen.  Something that changed everything.  Liv knows she doesn't belong anymore; not in her family, not in her own skin... not anywhere.  The only time she truly feels like herself is when she's with her boyfriend, Corey, and in the woods that surround her town.  But danger lurks in the woods, too.  While Corey and Liv's blind love binds them together, Liv's past threatens to tear them apart as she struggles to understand who- or what - she really is.  And by the light of the full moon, the most dangerous secrets bare their claws...  In the luminous hands of acclaimed writer Francesca Lia Block, werewolves take on a chilling new life.  Loyal fans, as well as a fresh new generation of readers, will be enthralled."


The Lost Saint (The Dark Divine, #2)The Lost Saint
(The Dark Divine, #2)
Written by Bree Despain
Release Date: December 28, 2010
Published by Egmont USA

Synopsis: 
"A family destroyed. A love threatened. An enemy returns.
Grace Divine made the ultimate sacrifice to cure Daniel Kalbi. She was infected with the werewolf curse while trying to save him, and lost her beloved brother in the process. When Grace receives a haunting phone call from Jude, she knows what she must do. She must become a Hound of Heaven.
Desperate to find Jude, Grace befriends Talbot—a newcomer to town who promises her that he can help her be a hero. But as the two grow closer, the wolf grows in Grace, and her relationship with Daniel is put in danger—in more ways than one.
Unaware of the dark path she is walking, Grace begins to give into the wolf inside of her—not realizing that an enemy has returned and a deadly trap is about to be sprung."


**I cannot wait for both of these!  The covers are fabulous and I do love me some werewolves!!  What are you waiting for?


 

Sunday, August 15, 2010

Vlog...In My Mailbox (40)

*Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM!



Books mentioned in this vlog....
The Emerald Talisman by Brenda Pandos
The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff
Manifest by Artist Arthur
The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller
Bob and Otto by Robert O. Bruel

*Let me know what you think.... Do you like 'In My Mailbox' as a regular post or do you enjoy watching the vlog post?  Please leave me a comment and let me know which you like better!  Thanks!

~Now you know what I got!  What did you get?~

Friday, August 13, 2010

Review: I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

http://scifimafia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/I_Am_Number_Four_Book_Cover-677x1024.jpg
[5stars.jpg]
I Am Number Four 
(Lorien Legacies, #1)
Written by Pittacus Lore
Available Now (August 3, 2010)
Published by HarperCollins

I was really excited about reading this book.  I have been hearing lots of hype about the book and the movie adaptation that Dreamworks is currently filming (starring Beastly hottie- Alex Pettyfer) and I couldn't wait to see for myself!  The book definitely lived up to its hype!

Summary from Goodreads:
"Nine of us came here. We look like you. We talk like you. We live among you. But we are not you. We can do things you dream of doing. We have powers you dream of having. We are stronger and faster than anything you have ever seen. We are the superheroes you worship in movies and comic books—but we are real.

Our plan was to grow, and train, and become strong, and become one, and fight them. But they found us and started hunting us first. Now all of us are running. Spending our lives in shadows, in places where no one would look, blending in. we have lived among you without you knowing.

But they know.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They killed them all.

I am Number Four.

I am next."

 
Book Trailer:


My Thoughts:
In short, this book was original, fast-paced, and action-packed!  I enjoyed it from the first page until the last.  Pittacus Lore is the pseudonym for the writing duo of James Frey and Jobie Hughes.  Pittacus Lore is also a character in the Lorien Legacies.  He is from the Planet Lorien (like Number Four) and is one of the planet's 10 mysterious Elders.  He is also the 'author' of this book.  He is using the book as a way of telling the readers the story of Lorien and the Nine in hopes that Earth will not suffer the same devastating fate as Lorien did.  I think that is a really neat concept and it definitely adds to the mysterious air that this series seems to hold!

I Am Number Four tells the story of Number Four, aka John Smith.  He is one of the 9 children that escaped amid a devastating war on their planet, Lorien.  These 9 children were sent to Earth in the hopes that they would grow up and come into their powers, or legacies, before their enemies, the Mogadorians, could find and kill them.  That means a life on the run for John and his guardian, Henri.  New names, new identities, and a new location are required every few months to keep them safe and undetected.  Unfortunately for John, he is unable to form any real relationships because #1- they move so frequently and #2- the closer he gets to humans the more questions they have and the likelihood his 'differences' will be noticed.  When Number 3 is killed, John knows he is next, so he and Henri hit the road for their next stop: Paradise, Ohio.

Paradise is better than John coud have imagined.  He has met his first real friend, Sam, and actually has his first girlfriend, Sara, but things don't stay calm for long.  John is desperate to hold his ground this time.  No more running.  He loves his new life, especially the people in it, and wants to fight for it.  Hiding who and what he is becomes increasingly difficult, especially when the enemies begin to close in.  You can imagine the action and adventure that ensues!  John is such an awesome and believable character!  He is a normal teenager in so many ways, yet he has this amazing power within him.  I really enjoyed watching his relationships with Sara and Sam progress and grow.  Poor John... he struggled with all of the normal teenage angst where girls are concerned, but he also had a HUGE secret to conceal! The other characters were just as well developed and interesting.  I really admired Henri's character.  He was so loyal to John and gave up so much to ensure his safety.  Sam was just adorable!  He was a stereotypical high school nerd/geek, but as he gets to know and befriend John, he undergoes such a beautiful transformation.  But my favorite character was one of very few words... Bernie Kozar (John's dog!).  There isn't much that I can say about that little guy without giving any spoilers, other than he was loyal, protective and all-around AWESOME!! 

I really enjoyed this read.  I read it cover to cover within the span of two days and was left wanting more!  The authors did a great job and wrote in a way that made this story believable.  I appreciated the attention to detail used during John's flashbacks to Lorien.  These flashbacks gave me a clear mental picture of John and Henri's world.  The Lorien shown to the reader makes you want to see it restored to its former glory.  The visions of the war allow you to see the Mogadorians for what they truly are and the danger they pose to the Nine and mainly to Earth!  The ending was well done.  The events that transpired were a little sad, but they also offered hope in the fight against the Mogadorians.  I think a wide range of people will enjoy this book and it is definitely one to recommend to reluctant readers.  I believe it will also really appeal to teen boys.  There are some graphic/violent battle scenes, but nothing nightmare inducing!  The relationship between John and Sara is sweet and innocent as well!  After reading the book I can't wait for the movie to come out in February!  The next book in the series will release in the spring of 2011 and will be titled The Power Of Six.

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Waiting On Wednesday

http://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs295.ash1/22270_261089632239_238691017239_3170056_2105382_t.jpg"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Jill from Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.  It is always so hard to decide which books I want to feature on Wednesdays.  There are so many wonderful books coming out this year.  Waiting is such torture!  Here are a few that I am waiting for....

WarpedWarped
Written by Maurissa Guibord
Release Date: January 11, 2011
Published by Delacorte Press

Summary from Goodreads:
" A love story that crosses centuries...and hangs by a thread.

Things get weird after Tessa Brody's father buys a dusty old unicorn tapestry at an auction. The wild, handsome creature woven within it draws Tessa, and frightens her too. One day she pulls a silver thread from the tapestry and releases the unicorn. Only he isn’t one at all. He’s William de Chaucy, a young sixteenth century English nobleman with gorgeous eyes, a weird accent and haughty attitude to spare. Will was trapped in the tapestry by Gray Lily, a sorceress who stole the thread of his life and relies on its energy for her eternal youth. Now Gray Lily wants her unicorn back and she’ll do anything to get him.

If that isn’t bad enough “his lordship” de Chaucy seems to think Tessa is someone she’s not: the girl who trapped him so long ago in the forest. Despite the sparky chemistry between them he seems to have the strange idea that she’ll be his undoing once more. Maybe she will. Because there’s a connection, an attraction to Will that Tessa can’t deny. She’s even beginning to dream about events in a forest of long ago. Or is she reliving them? But Tessa knows one thing for sure. She could never be some heartless twit of a virgin who would trap a unicorn."


The False PrincessThe False Princess
Written by Eilis O'Neal
Release Date: January 25, 2011
Published by Egmont USA 

Summary from Goodreads: 
"Princess and heir to the throne of Thorvaldor, Nalia knows her role in life. But everything changes when she learns, just after her sixteenth birthday, that she is a false princess–a stand-in for the real Nalia, who has been hidden away for her protection. Cast out with little more than the clothes on her back, the girl now called Sinda must leave behind the city, her best friend, Kiernan, and the only life she’s ever known.

While struggling with her new peasant life, Sinda discovers that magic runs through her veins–long-suppressed, dangerous magic that she must learn to control. Returning to the city to seek answers, she instead uncovers a secret that could change the course of Thorvaldor’s history forever.
"

Vampire CrushVampire Crush
Written by A.M. Robinson
Release Date: December 28, 2010
Published by HarperTeen

Summary from Goodreads:
"First, six mysteriously pale new students show up at Sophie McGee’s high school. Then, Sophie’s childhood nemesis James reappears, still displaying a knack for making Sophie’s blood boil. When Sophie finds out that James has a connection to the new students, she decides to investigate...never expecting her life will quickly begin to resemble a campy horror movie, complete with budding crushes and bloodthirsty villains.

Perfect fo
r fans of the Vampire Kisses and Vladmir Tod series, A. M. Robinson’s debut novel sparkles with action, intrigue, irresistible wit, and sizzling romance."

*So what do you think about these?  I think they sound pretty good! What are you waiting for?

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

The Emerald Talisman Blog Tour ~ Exclusive Excerpt from 'The Sapphire Talisman'!! (Sequel)

http://static.wix.com/media/3aabc3ee7c0a80857b239b422901ba66.wix_mpI am super excited to be participating in the blog tour for one of my favorite books... The Emerald Talisman by Brenda Pandos!  This tour is hosted by Eleni at La Femme Readers.  Make sure to check out her blog for the complete list of the tour stops and details about the book tour.  For those of you that haven't heard of The Emerald Talisman yet~ it is an exciting, edge-of-your-seat vampire story that will leave you begging for its sequel~ which I happen to have an exclusive excerpt of!!  That's right... today I have the pleasure of posting a scene from The Sapphire Talisman!!  But before we introduce the exclusive excerpt, I want to introduce the first book, The Emerald Talisman, and the talented author behind the series.... my friend Brenda Pandos!

Brenda's bio was taken from www.theemeraldtalisman.com :

"Brenda Pandos lives in Carmichael, California with her husband and two energetic children.  Shortly after the birth of her second son, Brenda's oldest was diagnosed with an ASD that turned her world upside-down.  Her life became round the clock feedings with a newborn and a daily stream of tutors working to help her toddler.  She craved a meaningful escape.
The main concepts of The Emerald Talisman came to her in the wee hours of the morning as she reminisced the good old days when she lived with her best friend in the Santa Cruz Mountains.  As a young girl, Brenda was a hopeless romantic, constantly lost in a fantasy world in her backyard of knights on white horses, mermaids and evil villains.  As a teen, shows such as Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel and Interview with a Vampire intrigued her.  With the encouragement of a friend after writing one chapter, she continued on to complete her first manuscript.  The Emerald Talisman is a compilation of what the author would like to happen if she ever encountered a real vampire!"
Now take a look at the book trailer for The Emerald Talisman....



You can see my 5 Star review of The Emerald Talisman HERE and the book's Goodreads page HERE

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_XXKh0RoHPXY/TFNFJXDMqNI/AAAAAAAAANM/kwlVecey53M/s1600/mini-bookcover-2.jpgNow the moment you have been waiting for.... The EXCLUSIVE scene from the upcoming sequel to The Emerald Talisman titled The Sapphire Talisman.  This sequel is hitting the 'virtual' shelves this December and I can't wait for it!  If you haven't read The Emerald Talisman do not worry... this scene isn't spoilery - just tempting!!

From The Sapphire Talisman by Brenda Pandos:
"With a flick of Alora’s fingernail, blood gushed from the girls arm and she cried out into her gag. Alora ignored her and held her arm over Nicholas’ mouth.
I ran to the edge of my cage and grabbed the bars, forgetting I was supposed to be tied up. My bloodied sock fell to the floor.
“What are you doing?” I gasped, watching Nicholas spit red bubbles as the blood poured into his mouth. “You’ll suffocate him. He needs water!”
He fought the liquid at first, shaking his head. But Alora continued until Nicholas’ evil side took over. With a snarl his face contorted; he took the girl’s wrist and yanked it to his lips. The girl moaned in pain, then sighed, falling down next to his body.
“We must be gentle and no biting,” Alora warned, like Nicholas was her pet. “Blood slaves are to be respected.”
Unable to stop the flood of emotions, the yummy mind numbing, body tingling sensation hit me too. I fought to stay composed, but the euphoria took over and I crumpled to the floor, relishing in the delight.
“I see you’re experiencing it too, wonderful,” I heard Alora say, her ethereal voice dancing around in the sudden vastness of my head.
And at that dangerous moment, all I wanted was to become a vampire and feel the rush whenever and wherever."
Doesn't that just leave you wanting more!!?  I am really excited about The Sapphire Talisman and want to thank Brenda for providing such a juicy little tidbit for us!!  Please make sure that you grab a copy of The Emerald Talisman if you haven't read it yet!  You can buy it HERE (Amazon) or you can go the the book's website HERE to order a signed copy from Brenda.  Thanks for stopping by and check La Femme Readers for the next stop on the book tour!

Monday, August 9, 2010

Review: Raised By Wolves by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Raised by Wolves (Raised by Wolves, #1)[5stars.jpg]

Raised By Wolves
Written by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Available Now!!
Published by Egmont USA

I was really looking forward to reading this book!  I love a good werewolf story and the synopsis for Raised By Wolves sounded intriguing.  I was not prepared to open this book and remained glued to its pages!  I can honestly say that Raised By Wolves by Jennifer Lynn Barnes is the best werewolf story I have read to date!!

Summary from Goodreads:
"Adopted by the Alpha of a werewolf pack after a rogue wolf brutally killed her parents right before her eyes, fifteen-year-old Bryn knows only pack life, and the rigid social hierarchy that controls it. That doesn't mean that she's averse to breaking a rule or two.

But when her curiosity gets the better of her and she discovers Chase, a new teen locked in a cage in her guardian's basement, and witnesses him turn into a wolf before her eyes, the horrific memories of her parents' murders return. Bryn becomes obsessed with getting her questions answered, and Chase is the only one who can provide the information she needs.

But in her drive to find the truth, will Bryn push too far beyond the constraints of the pack, forcing her to leave behind her friends, her family, and the identity that she's shaped?"


My Thoughts: 
This book was incredible!  Jennifer Lynn Barnes crafted a beautiful tale that went far beyond your typical story of a human girl and a werewolf boy.  Instead, she wrote a story about what it means to be part of a 'pack': the good parts, the bad parts, the scary parts, and the romantic part.  No stone was left unturned in Bryn's world.  I believe that the true strength of this novel was found within its characters.  The main characters were fully developed and complex.  Bryn was a strong female protagonist.  The circumstances of her life required her to be tough, both mentally and physically.  Bryn was never afraid to stand her ground, even though she was supposed to be submit to the pack rules and way of life.  She desperately wanted to hold on to her individuality and privacy.  This was not easy for Bryn because she was a human immersed in a world that revolved around the 'pack bond' with shared thoughts and feelings and allegiance to the pack's Alpha, Callum.  The rules that govern their kind were supreme and the law.  Bryn pushed her boundaries and the patience of Callum and the rest of the pack with her lack of regard for these rules.  Things get even more complicated for Bryn when she feels drawn to Callum's basement. There she discovers Chase, a cute teenage boy being held in a cage, who also happens to change into a wolf that wants to kill her!  Bryn wants answers about Chase- why he is there, why she feels so drawn to him, and why she was kept in the dark about his presence.  What entails is a thrilling journey of danger, suspense, and self-discovery for Bryn- resulting in Bryn truly having  her eyes opened to what 'pack' really means.

The author did such a great job with all of the characters.  I loved how the female characters were portrayed in the story.  All of them, Were and human, were smart, strong and able to take care of themselves.  I loved Ali.  She stepped in as Bryn's 'mother' and was human as well.  She was fiercely protective of Bryn and not afraid to challenge 'the pack' when it came to Bryn's safety.  Callum's character was one of my favorites too.  He was not only the pack's Alpha and the oldest, most powerful Werewolf, he was also Bryn's guardian.  The bond and the love between him and Bryn was obvious, but 'pack business' always took presidence over being a 'father figure' to her.  He always did the best that he could for her, although I found myself questioning his decisions at different points in the book.  I would love to hear more of his long history in future installments in this series.  Oh Devon, Devon, Devon!  He was just a riot!!  He was Bryn's best friend and the only known metrosexual werewolf that enjoyed belting out show tunes and putting on theatrical performances!  He provided comic relief when needed and would lay his life down for Bryn.  I can't wait to see what is in store for him in this series!  I would love to tell you about Chase, the teenage werewolf Bryn is so drawn to, but I feel like anything I say would be too spoilery!  So I will just say this.... He is one hot hunk of wolf!!


This was such a good book that the pages seemed to turn themselves!  The pace was perfect and there was just enough action, suspense, romance and humor to make this a 5 star read!  The ending was satisfying and answered most of the book's burning questions and properly set the stage for the next installment.  I highly recommend this book to EVERYONE- I bet you'll love it too!  I cannot wait for the next book in the series titled Trial By Fire which is due for release in 2011.


Sunday, August 8, 2010

Vlog...In My Mailbox (39)


*Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM!

Books mentioned in this vlog:
For review:
The Wedding Gift by Kathleen McKenna

Bought:
Deception by Lee Nichols
Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder
Promise by Kristie Cook
Echoes by Melinda Metz
The Chosen One by Carol Lynch William
The Deathday Letter by Shaun David Hutchinson
Blood Song by Cat Adams

Contest books: 
Infinite Days by Rebecca Maizel
Oh.My.Gods and Goddess Boot Camp by Tera Lynn Childs
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

*Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

Friday, August 6, 2010

FRIDAY FINDS!!

http://shouldbereading.files.wordpress.com/2010/08/ff2_md.jpg

*Thanks to MizB from Should Be Reading for hosting Friday Finds!

Friday Finds is a post that lets us showcase upcoming releases found during the week.  This week I did some research on upcoming 2011 releases and I would love to share a few of those with you!  If you have any finds, leave me a comment so I can go check them out!  Here are a few that I found:

WitherWither (The Chemical Garden Trilogy, #1)
Written by Lauren DeStefano
Release Date: March 22, 2011
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing

Summary from Goodreads:
"What if you knew exactly when you would die? Thanks to modern science, every human being has become a ticking genetic time bomb—males only live to age twenty-five, and females only live to age twenty. In this bleak landscape, young girls are kidnapped and forced into polygamous marriages to keep the population from dying out.

When sixteen-year-old Rhine Ellery is taken by the Gatherers to become a bride, she enters a world of wealth and privilege. Despite her husband Linden's genuine love for her, and a tenuous trust among her sister wives, Rhine has one purpose: to escape—to find her twin brother and go home.

But Rhine has more to contend with than losing her freedom. Linden's eccentric father is bent on finding an antidote to the genetic virus that is getting closer to taking his son, even if it means collecting corpses in order to test his experiments. With the help of Gabriel, a servant she trusts, Rhine attempts to break free, in the limted time she has left."


*Is that cover not gorgeous?!  

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs472.ash1/25878_1361943201132_1008121083_31073426_1982263_n.jpgThroat
Written by R.A. Nelson
Release Date: January 25, 2011
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers 


Summary from Goodreads:
" R. A. Nelson takes us on a supernatural thrill ride, a modern-day vampire story set on a NASA base and filled with space-and-science intrigue. Seventeen-year-old Emma feels cursed by her epilepsy—until the lost night. She's shocked to wake up in the hospital one morning, weak from blood loss. When her memories begin to return, she pieces together that it was a man—a monster—who attacked her: a vampire named Wirtz. And it was her very condition that saved her: a grand mal seizure interrupted Wirtz and left Emma with all the amazing powers of a vampire—heightened senses, rapid speed—but no need to drink blood. Is Emma now a half-vampire girl? One thing soon becomes clear: the vampire Wirtz is fierce and merciless, feared even by his own kind, and won't leave a job undone."

Vesper: A Deviants NovelVesper: A Deviants Novel
Written by Jeff Sampson
Release Date: January 25, 2011
Publisher: Balzer+Bray / HarperCollins
  
Summary from Goodreads:
"Emily Webb is a geek—and happy that way. She’s never been the kind of girl who sneaks out for parties. And she definitely doesn’t start fights or flirt with other girls’ boyfriends. Until one night Emily finds herself doing exactly that … the same night a classmate—also named Emily—is found mysteriously murdered.

The thing is, Emi
ly doesn’t know why she’s doing this. Every night, she gets wilder until it’s not just her personality that changes; she’s also becoming strong, fast, and utterly fearless. Has she been bewitched by the soul of the other, murdered Emily? Or is Emily Webb becoming something else entirely—something not human?"

** So what do you think?  I think these books will be fantastic and I look forward to 2011!

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Back To School Giveaway!

http://www.vickiehowell.com/podcast/giveaway.gifA new school year is right around the corner!  One great way to ease the pain of going back to school is to win some AMAZING books!!  This giveaway provides you the chance to do just that!  So here is what I am going to offer up: 



Prize #1..... Mockinjay (Hunger Games #3) by Suzanne Collins

Prize #2..... Infinite Days by Rebecca Maizel

Prize #3..... Oh. My. Gods.(Hardcover) AND Goddess Boot Camp (Paperback) by Tera Lynn Childs
  •  This giveaway is open internationally to followers 13 years of age or older.   It will end on August 30th at Midnight(eastern time).   Just fill out the form below!!  Good Luck!

Sunday, August 1, 2010

In My Mailbox (38)

http://www.kidprintables.com/coloring/misc/mailbox.gif
**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM**
 
"In My Mailbox" is a weekly meme that spotlights the new books you received for review, swapped, won or bought!  Have a look at what I got!


For Review ~ NONE

Bought:
I Am Number Four by Pitticus Lore
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Infinite Days by Rebecca Maizel
Kiss Me Deadly edited by Trisha Telep
The Grimm Legacy by Polly Shulman
Sweep Vol. 1 by Cate Tiernan
Fade by Lisa McMann
Bite Me! by Melissa Francis
Love Sucks! by Melissa Francis
Immortal edited by P.C. Cast
Peeled by Joan Bauer

Swapped:
The Year of Disappearances by Susan Hubbard (arc)

*Now you know what I got!  What did you get?