Monday, February 28, 2011

Last Chance to Enter My BIG BOOK Giveaway!


Today is the LAST day to enter my BIG BOOK Giveaway!  Entries will be cut off at midnight tonight (EST).  The giveaway is open internationally.  There are lots of great books and swag up for grabs and I've added some of the swag I got at the Breathless Reads event on Friday too!  Here are the books up for grabs: 
  • Signed copy of Matched by Ally Condie
  • Restoring Harmony by Joelle Anthony
  • Prophecy Of The Sisters by Michelle Zink
  • Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
  • Swoon by Nina Malkin
  • Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson
  • The Demon's Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan
  • Going Bovine by Libby Bray
  • Blood Promise by Richelle Mead
  • Extraordinary (arc) by Nancy Werlin
  • Goddess Bootcamp by Tera Lynn Childs 
  • Graceling by Kristin Cashore
  • Signed copy of Intrinsical by Lani Woodland
  • Lots of SWAG with all of the prizes too!

If you would like to get your entry in before it's too late, then just click HERE to get to the contest post and form! Thanks for entering!

Sunday, February 27, 2011

In My Mailbox (60) and Exciting Info from the Breathless Reads Event!



**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox' is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week.  I got some good reads this week.  Take a look at what I got:


The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff (signed @ The Breathless Reads event ~ info below)
Secrets and Shadows by Shannon Delany
Trickster's Girl by Hilari Bell (Thanks Ari!)
Shadow Bound by Erin Kellison
Shadow Fall by Erin Kellison
My Zombie Valentine featuring Marianne Mancusi, Lisa Cach, Katie MacAlister, and Angie Fox

Breathless Reads Tour Stop ~ Raleigh NC 2/25/11
Friday night I was fortunate enough to be able to attend the Breathless Reads Tour event in Raleigh, NC.  I cannot express how incredible it was!  Five amazing young adult authors in one place ~ Ally Condie (author of Matched), Andrea Cremer (author of Nightshade), Kirsten Miller (author of The Eternal Ones), Beth Revis (author of Across the Universe), and Brenna Yovanoff (author of The Replacement) were all in attendance.  The event began with a Q&A session.  Here are a few interesting tidbits:

Beth Revis, My niece Maddie, Me, and Brenna Yovanoff
  • Each author gave a little known fact about their main characters.  Here is what they said:
*Ally Condie - "Cassia is stronger than she knows."
*Andrea Cremer - "Calla's favorite book is Watership Down."
*Kirsten Miller - "Haven is from a small town in Eastern Tennessee."
*Beth Revis - "The main character has the BIGGEST secret!"
*Brenna Yovanoff - "Mackie is an excellent bass player."

Ally Condie, Me, and Andrea Cremer
  • Each author gave some Dos and Don'ts for aspiring authors.  Here is what each of them said (some paraphrasing):
*Beth Revis - "Do - go out and have new experiences.  Don't - take too much advice!"
*Brenna Yovanoff - "Do- finish  projects.  Don't - be too much of a perfectionist the first time through."
*Kirsten Miller - "Do - exercise 'butt-power' (the power to sit for hours on end until you write something that you like!).  Don't - let anyone tell you that you can't!  All authors have people that love their books and people that hate their books."
*Andrea Cremer - "Do - write what you love.  Write the story you want to tell.  Don't write about what you know~write the story you want to know because you will learn as you write. Don't try to follow someone else's writing process.  Try lots of processes and find what works best for you because there isn't one correct way!"
*Ally Condie - "Do - cut yourself some slack." I missed her 'Don't'... sorry!

Me and Kirsten Miller
  • What genre would you like to write?
*Beth Revis - Fantasy
*Brenna Yovanoff - Edgy Contemporary
*Andrea Cremer - Detective Novel
*Kirsten Miller - Horror
*Ally Condie - A happy book for boys ages 7 to 9 (she is working on a book for her son).
  • What advice would you give to your main character?
*Ally Condie - Trust yourself.
*Beth Revis - Don't trust anyone!
*Brenna Yovanoff - Don't be so self conscious!
*Andrea Cremer - Me more careful! Watch out!
*Kirsten Miller - Things are rarely what they seem!

Bookmarks!!!
Signed goodies and discussion questions for the books!
  • What current project are you working on?
*Ally Condie - sequel to Matched.
*Beth Revis - sequel to Across The Universe titled A Million Suns.
*Kirsten Miller - just finished sequel to The Eternal Ones titled All You Desire and finishing the third Kiki Strike book.
*Brenna Yovanoff - stand alone novel titled The Space Between (a demon love story!)
*Andrea Cremer - the 3rd Nightshade book titled Blood Rose and the 4th Nightshade book which is a prequel/companion novel that revolves around the witch's war and is set in Scotland during the 1400's!  She also said that she is writing a 'secret book' (how mysterious!) and a new steampunk series that she hopes will be her next series after Nightshade.

There was so much more advice, info, and funny stories shared by the authors, but I am not great at note-taking!  If you haven't read these five books then you MUST!  I loved all of them and I love them even more now that I know how incredible the authors are!  I will be hosting a contest soon with some of my signed books and swag goodness- so check back soon for that!


I also wanted to remind everyone to check out my BIG BOOK Giveaway.  It is filled with good books and good swag!  These are just a few of the titles up for grabs (check out the post to see the rest!): Matched (now it's a signed copy!) by Ally Condie, Extraordinary (arc) by Nancy Werlin, Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins, Intrinsical by Lani Woodland, Graceling by Kristin Cashore, Going Bovine by Libby Bray and more!!!  It is open internationally and will close February 28th.  Hurry... you only have a few days letft to enter.  I will be adding some of the bookmarks that I picked up at the event to the prize packs too!  You can check it out HERE.

Sunday, February 20, 2011

In My Mailbox (59)


**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox' is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week.  I also wanted to remind everyone to check out my latest giveaway.  I posted my BIG BOOK Giveaway and it is filled with good books and good swag!  These are just a few of the titles up for grabs (check out the post to see the rest!): Matched by Ally Condie, Extraordinary (arc) by Nancy Werlin, Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins, Intrinsical by Lani Woodland, Graceling by Kristin Cashore, Going Bovine by Libby Bray and more!!!  It is open internationally and will close February 28th.  You can check it out HERE.

Now here is what I got in my mailbox this week~
Bought:
This Side Of The Grave by Jeaniene Frost
Dreams Of A Dark Warrior by Kresley Cole

Goodreads Swap:
Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine
Raven by Allison Van Deipen

*Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

Saturday, February 19, 2011

Review: The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa

The Iron Queen (Iron Fey, #3)[5stars.jpg]
The Iron Queen
(The Iron Fey Series, #3)
Written by Julie Kagawa
Available NOW!
Published by Harlequin Teen
*A review copy was  provided by the publisher and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Summary from Goodreads:
"My name is Meghan Chase.I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who's sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I'm not sure anyone can survive it.
This time, there will be no turning back."

My Thoughts:
"Wow!!!  I cannot express how much I love this series!  The Iron Queen is my favorite installment so far.  I had trouble putting this book down and endured a couple of sleep deprived nights as a result!  The Iron Queen picked up right after Meghan and Ash were exiled from The Nevernever and banished to the mortal world.  Unfortunately for Meghan, it doesn't take long for the Iron Fey to seek her out.  Once again Meghan is a pawn in the conflict between the Courts.  With war on the horizon, Meghan must come to terms with who she is and face her destiny because this threat is the biggest that the Nevernever has ever faced and the stakes couldn't be higher!

First I must say that Julie Kagawa did an incredible job with the third installment of The Iron Fey Series.  With each book, the series seems to get better!  I love all of the characters and was happy to see all of my favorite ones return.  Meghan has changed so much from the first book.  Where she was once dependent on others to protect her, she now has the maturity and capability to take care of herself.  That doesn't mean that Ash and Puck stop looking out for her.  In fact, it's quite the opposite!  Puck was as fun and entertaining as ever.  I love the banter between him and Ash.  They claim to hate each other, but I believe that the friendship they once shared is reforming and neither is willing to admit it.  Ash.... Oh, I do so love him!  Without the Winter Court and Mab watching his every move, he was able to show his true feeling for Meghan.  It was nice seeing the "Ice Prince" melt away- revealing a man completely consumed with love!  Don't get me wrong, he doesn't go all soft and mushy.  He is still the fierce and honorable warrior he was, but now we get to see glimpses of vulnerability in him.  It's a good thing that he is a Winter Fey, because he definitely needs some ice to cool his extreme HOTNESS!  I was also happy to see my favorite feline Fey grace us with his presence again.  Grimalkin is aloof and clever, and he always seems to be at the right place at the right time.  You get the impression that he knows the solution to every problem that arises, but only chooses to reveal bits and pieces as necessary.  He has a superiority complex in a big way, but he is a cat after all!  Grim always leaves me wondering when he is going to pop in to lazily save the day!  There are also many new characters in this book.  I won't say any more about them because I don't want to spoil anything for you!

Julie Kagawa did a marvelous job creating a plot that is not only full of action, but swirling with romance.  The Iron Queen weaves a story of love, loss, sacrifice, and destiny.  I highly recommend this book and series to EVERYONE!  I am already pining for the next installment, The Iron Knight, which is expected to release in November of this year.  As you can probably tell from the title, this is Ash's story and I cannot wait to read it!

Friday, February 18, 2011

Books for Trade!


This is long overdue!  My bookshelves are bursting at the seams, so its time to thin them out a bit.  The following books are available for trade.  I have posted 'My Wishlist' HERE, however, if you have any recent releases or future releases (arcs are fine) that you want to trade and they are not on my list (I have most of the older releases already) please email me and let me know what you have available for trade.  I am also willing to trade two for one if you have an arc of an upcoming release that I really want.  If you are interested in swapping just email me at jenniferclodfelter(at)yahoo(dot)com.  Thanks!


Books for Trade:
Paperbacks
Code Name: Silence by Kirsten Van Dyke
Kiss Me Deadly edited by Trisha Telep
Sweep ~ Vol. 1 ~ Book Of Shadows by Cate Tiernan
Unleashed by Kristopher Reisz
Morpheus Road: The Light by D.J. MacHale (arc)
She Thief by Daniel Finn (arc)
This Gorgeous Game by Donna Freitas (arc)
The Gardener by S.A. Bodeen (arc)
The Debs by Susan McBride
The Clockwork Three by Matthew Kirby (arc)
Bitter Frost by Kailin Gow
Still Missing by Chevy Stevens (arc)
Death Cloud: Young Sherlock Holmes by Andrew Lane (arc)

Hardcovers
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Radiant Darkness by Emily Whitman
Because I Am Furniture by Thalia Chaltas
Bog Child by Siobhan Dowd

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/__XbVbpIU5LU/TPZmqVjxLwI/AAAAAAAACrI/auLbQhDrMiE/s1600/waiting+on+wednesday+1.png
"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Jill from Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.  It is always so hard to decide which books I want to feature on Wednesdays.  There are so many wonderful books coming out!  Waiting is such torture!  I have an 'Angel' theme this week!  Here are a few that I am waiting for....

Lemniscate (Angel Star, #2)Lemniscate
(Angel Star #2)
Written by Jennifer Murgia
Release Date: March 21, 2011
Published by Lands Atlantic Publishing, LLC

Summary from Goodreads:
"For Teagan, these last few months have been heaven on earth- especially now that Garreth, her boyfriend and guardian angel, is earthbound. But perhaps Garreth is becoming a little more human than either of them expected.
Now, Teagan must realize that her world is once again about to shift, as she questions the faith she held in others against those once considered enemies.
In this continuation of Angel Star, Lemniscate will draw you even deeper into the world of dark and light as Teagan realizes the angel who could possibly save them all is the one angel she feared the most.
"


*I really enjoyed Angel Star and I can't wait to find out where the story is headed next!  I have this book in my tbr stack and I can't wait to read it!!


Breath of Angel: A Novel (The Angeleon Circle)Breath of Angel: A Novel
(The Angeleon Circle #1)
Written by Karyn Henley
Release Date: June 21, 2011
Published by WaterBrook Press (Random House)


Summary from Goodreads:
"Melaia, a young priestess, is drawn into an ancient feud between immortal brothers who destroyed the Wisdom Tree with its stairway to heaven, stranding angels in the world of humans. For the Tree and its stairway to be restored, the debt that sparked the ancient feud must be paid, and the payment, Melaia discovers, involves her own destiny."

*This sounds really interesting! 


A Touch MortalA Touch Mortal
Written by Leah Clifford
Release Date:February 22, 2011
Published by Greenwillow Books

Summary from Goodreads:
"Eden didn't expect Az. Not his saunter down the beach toward her. Not his unbelievable pick-up line. Not the instant, undeniable connection. And not his wings.
Yeah.
So long, happily-ever-after.
Now trapped between life and death, cursed to spread chaos with her every touch, Eden could be the key in the eternal struggle between heaven and hell. All because she gave her heart to one of the Fallen, an angel cast out of heaven.
She may lose everything she ever had. She may be betrayed by those she loves most. But Eden will not be a pawn in anyone else's game. Her heart is her own.
And that's only the beginning of the end."


*I have been eagerly awaiting this book's release!  The wait is almost over... it releases next week!


Now you know what I am waiting for!  What books are you looking forward to?

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

Happy Valentine's Day from A!!


Sorry this post is a day late, but unfortunately my Valentine's Day consisted of my 6 year old coming down with the flu.  However, I did receive some awesome Valentine's goodies that I wanted to share with you guys!  If you follow my blog then you are aware that I was one of the extremely lucky bloggers asked to participate in the Pretty Little Liars promotional game hosted by ABCFamily this past summer.  As sadistic and scary as A is on the show (and in the books), she has showered the game players with gifts since Thanksgving!  I thought that her generosity had come to end after receiving the beautiful calla lilies on New Year's Eve, but no.... yesterday I found a FedEx package waiting at my door with A's name on it!  Inside was a velvet heart shaped box filled with delicious chocolates (I have almost eaten them all:).  As usual, there was a clue to find that would lead you to an exclusive video clip from Pretty Little Liars!  After much chocolate eating, I found the hidden website under the chocolate marked with the ?.  The video can be found HERE if you want to check it out- you won't be disappointed!  If you are not watching Pretty Little Liars on ABCFamily then you are missing one of the best shows on TV.  It airs Monday nights at 8:00pm(EST) on ABCFamily.  Thanks for the goodies A and ABCFamily!!





Sunday, February 13, 2011

In My Mailbox (58)


**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox' is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week.  I also wanted to remind everyone to check out my latest giveaway.  I posted my BIG BOOK Giveaway and it is filled with good books and good swag!  These are just a few of the titles up for grabs (check out the post to see the rest!): Matched by Ally Condie, Extraordinary (arc) by Nancy Werlin, Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins, Intrinsical by Lani Woodland, Graceling by Kristin Cashore, Going Bovine by Libby Bray and more!!!  It is open internationally and will close February 28th.  You can check it out HERE.


For Review:
Lemniscate (Angel Star, #2) by Jennifer Murgia
Griffin Rising by Darby Karchut + Griffin Rising bracelet


Bought:
Vampire Crush by A.M. Robinson
Immortal by Gillian Shields
Beastly by Alex Finn
Angelology by Danielle Trussoni


Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/__XbVbpIU5LU/TPZmqVjxLwI/AAAAAAAACrI/auLbQhDrMiE/s1600/waiting+on+wednesday+1.png
"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Jill from Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.  It is always so hard to decide which books I want to feature on Wednesdays.  There are so many wonderful books coming out!  Waiting is such torture!  Here are a few that I am waiting for....

Once Every NeverOnce Every Never
Written by Lesley Livingston
Release Date: July 1, 2011
Published by Penguin Canada

Summary from Goodreads:
"Clarinet Reid is a pretty typical teenager. On the surface. She’s smart, but a bit of slacker; outgoing, but just a little insecure; not exactly a mischief-maker… but trouble tends to find her wherever she goes. Also? She unwittingly carries a centuries-old Druid Blood Curse running through her veins.
Now, with a single thoughtless act, what started off as the Summer Vacation in Dullsville suddenly spirals into a deadly race to find a stolen artifact, avert an explosive catastrophe, save a Celtic warrior princess, right a dreadful wrong that happened centuries before Clare was even born, and if there’s still time—literally—maybe even get a date.

This is the kind of adventure that happens to a girl once every… never.
"


*Lesley Livingston... need I say more!?

HuntressHuntress
(Prequel to Ash)
Written by Malinda Lo
Release Date: April 11, 2011
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers


Summary from Goodreads:
"Nature is out of balance in the human world. The sun hasn’t shone in years, and crops are failing. Worse yet, strange and hostile creatures have begun to appear. The people’s survival hangs in the balance.

To solve the crisis, the oracle stones are cast, and Kaede and Taisin, two seventeen-year-old girls, are picked to go on a dangerous and unheard-of journey to Taninli, the city of the Fairy Queen. Taisin is a sage, thrumming with magic, and Kaede is of the earth, without a speck of the otherworldly. And yet the two girls’ destinies are drawn together during the mission. As members of their party succumb to unearthly attacks and fairy tricks, the two come to rely on each other and even begin to fall in love. But the Kingdom needs only one huntress to save it, and what it takes could tear Kaede and Taisin apart forever.

The exciting adventure prequel to Malinda Lo’s highly acclaimed novel Ash is overflowing with lush Chinese influences and details inspired by the I Ching, and is filled with action and romance.
"


PossessionPossession
Written by Elana Johnson
Release Date: June 7, 2011
Published by Simon & Schuster


Summary from Goodreads:
"Vi knows the Rule: Girls don't walk with boys, and they never even think about kissing them. But no one makes Vi want to break the Rules more than Zenn...and since the Thinkers have chosen him as Vi's future match, how much trouble can one kiss cause? The Thinkers may have brainwashed the rest of the population, but Vi is determined to think for herself.

But the Thinkers are unusually persuasive, and they're set on convincing Vi to become one of them...starting by brainwashing Zenn. Vi can't leave Zenn in the Thinkers' hands, but she's wary of joining the rebellion, especially since that means teaming up with Jag. Jag is egotistical, charismatic, and dangerous--everything Zenn's not. Vi can't quite trust Jag and can't quite resist him, but she also can't give up on Zenn.

This is a game of control or be controlled. And Vi has no choice but to play.
"


*All of these titles sound fantastic!  I can't wait to get my hands on all of them!

Sunday, February 6, 2011

In My Mailbox (57)


**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM

'In My Mailbox' is a weekly post that spotlights the new books that were received during the week.  I also wanted to remind everyone to check out my latest giveaway.  I posted my BIG BOOK Giveaway and it is filled with good books and good swag!  These are just a few of the titles up for grabs (check out the post to see the rest!): Matched by Ally Condie, Extraordinary (arc) by Nancy Werlin, Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins, Intrinsical by Lani Woodland, Graceling by Kristin Cashore, Going Bovine by Libby Bray and more!!!  It is open internationally and will close February 28th.  You can check it out HERE. 


Now on to the mailbox:
The Vampire's Promise by Caroline B. Cooney
The Demon Trapper's Daughter by Jana Oliver
The Iron Queen (Iron Fey, #3) by Julie Kagawa
The Season of Passage by Christopher Pike
Vesper: A Deviants Novel by Jeff Sampson
Unearthly by Cynthia Hand
Delirium by Lauren Oliver (My review)

*Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

Thursday, February 3, 2011

Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Delirium (Delirium, #1)

[5stars.jpg]
Delirium (Delirium, #1)
Written by Lauren Oliver
Available NOW!!
Published by HarperTeen
*ARC copy provided by publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

Summary from Goodreads:
"Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love -- the deliria -- blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the governments demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.
"


My Thoughts:
This book was so original! The story was captivating, suspenseful and heart-wrenching. I found myself so angry at the government in this alternate version of our world. Love is the backbone of all human emotions and to envision a world without it is incomprehensible! I loved Lena's character. She learned so much about herself through the course of the book. The life she envisioned for herself, her future, and the 'cure' itself are facades. Enter Alex... so swoonworthy! I loved him and admired his strength and bravery. He wasn't afraid and in turn, he opened Lena's eyes to the truth of their world. I don't want to go into too much detail about the plot because I don't want to spoil it for anyone, but I will say that this book forces you to look at the importance of love- the good parts and the painful parts. You can't have one without the other. I highly recommend Delirium to anyone that loves a good Romeo/Juliet type lovestory. It was a pageturner, a heartbreaker, and much more! Kudos to Lauren Oliver!

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Upcoming CSN Product Review

Do you love online shopping like I do?  If you answered yes, then you have to visit my favorite online shopping destination ~ CSN.   I love every item that I have received from CSN.   I am very excited that I have been given another opportunity to do a product review.  It is always so hard to choose an item because they have so much to pick from!  I 'm trying to decide between a new laptop messenger bag, a new handbag, or another bookshelf.  You may be asking.... why should you shop with CSN Stores?  That's easy... They have the largest selection of products in the largest variety of categories on the web.  They also offer low prices, exceptional customer service and quality products.  Take a few minutes and go check out CSN for yourself!

Here are a few items that I am interested in:

Ellington - Brooke Crossbody in BlackTimbuk2 - 288-4 - Medium Command Messenger BagWinsome - Milan Tall Storage Shelf