Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/__XbVbpIU5LU/TPZmqVjxLwI/AAAAAAAACrI/auLbQhDrMiE/s1600/waiting+on+wednesday+1.png
"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Jill from Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.  It is always so hard to decide which books I want to feature on Wednesdays.  There are so many wonderful books coming out!  Waiting is such torture!  Here are a few that I am waiting for....

As I WakeAs I Wake
Written by Elizabeth Scott
Release Date: September 15, 2011
Published  by Dutton Juvenile

Summary from Goodreads:
"What if you woke up and didn't know where you were?

What if you didn't know who you were?

And what if, when your memories started to come back--what if they didn't match the you that you're supposed to be?

Ava is welcomed home from the hospital by a doting mother, lively friends, and a crush finally beginning to show interest. There's only one problem: Ava can't remember any of them--and can't shake the eerie feeling that she's not who they say she is.

Ava struggles to break through her amnesiac haze as she goes through the motions of high-school life, but the memories that surface take place in a very different world, where Ava and familiar-faced friends are under constant scrutiny and no one can be trusted. Ava doesn't know what to make of these visions, or of the boy who is at the center of them all, until he reappears in her life and offers answers . . . but only in exchange for her trust.
"



The Mephisto Covenant (The Mephisto Covenant, #1)The Mephisto Covenant
Written by Trinity Faegen
Release Date: September 27, 2011
Published by EgmontUSA


Summary from Goodreads:
"Sasha is desperate to find out who murdered her father. When getting
the answer means pledging her soul to Eryx, she unlocks a secret that
puts her in grave danger—Sasha is Anabo, a daughter of Eve, and
Eryx’s biggest threat.

A son of Hell, immortal, and bound to Earth forever, Jax looks
for redemption in the Mephisto Covenant—God’s promise he will find
peace in the love of an Anabo. After a thousand years, he’s finally
found the girl he’s been searching for: Sasha.

With the threat of Eryx looming, Jax has to keep Sasha safe and
win her over. But can he? Will Sasha love him and give up her mortal
life?
"


*Both of these sound fantastic and I can't wait until they release!!

Sunday, April 24, 2011

In My Mailbox (66)


In My Mailbox is a weekly post that allows us to share the books we received during the week.  This is two weeks worth of book goodness!  Here's what I got:


For Review:
The Hot List by Hillary Homzie *Thanks Simon & Schuster
Kane Richards Must Die by Shanice Williams *Thanks Lands Atlantic

Bought/Swapped:
Kat Incorrigible by Stephanie Burgis
Kindred by Tammar Stein
The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter
The Twilight Saga: The Official Illustrated Guide by Stephanie Meyer
Miles From Ordinary by Carol Lynch Williams
The Gathering by Kelley Armstrong
Sweep Vol. II by Cate Tiernan

*Now you know what I got.  What did you get?

Sunday, April 17, 2011

I'm going to the open casting call for The Hunger Games Movie!!

Ok.. normally I do my IMM post but today there is no time because I am headed to the open casting call for extras for The Hunger Games Movie!!  Yeah!  I may not (probably won't) get hired, but it's worth a try right?!  I will take some pics for the blog and let you guys know how it goes!

Friday, April 15, 2011

Follow Friday!


I haven't participated in Follow Friday in a really long time and I thought it was time to join back in the fun!  This is a great way to discover new blogs and meet new blogger buddies.  If you would like to join in with me then just follow these simple rules:
  1. (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Host { Parajunkee.com } and any one else you want to follow on the list
  2. (Required) Follow the Featured Bloggers - http://romance-around-the-corner.blogspot.com/
  3. Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing.
  4. Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say hi in your comments
  5. Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don't just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don't say "HI"
  6. If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love...and the followers
  7. If you're new to the Follow Friday Hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog! 
This week's question:

Q. Do you have anyone that you can discuss books with? Tell us about him/her.

 I discuss books with just about anyone that will listen, but I have a co-worker that loves books in the crazy-obsessed way that I do and we usually trade books, recommend books to each other and call each other to gush about something that happened in the book we are reading and just can't wait until we get to work the next day! 


    Wednesday, April 13, 2011

    Waiting On Wednesday

    http://2.bp.blogspot.com/__XbVbpIU5LU/TPZmqVjxLwI/AAAAAAAACrI/auLbQhDrMiE/s1600/waiting+on+wednesday+1.png
    "Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Jill from Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.  It is always so hard to decide which books I want to feature on Wednesdays.  There are so many wonderful books coming out!  Waiting is such torture!  Here are a few that I am waiting for....

    Juliet ImmortalJuliet Immortal
    Written by Stacey Jay
    Release Date: September 13, 2011
    Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers


    Summary from Goodreads:
    "These violent delights have violent ends
    And in their triumph die, like fire and powder,
    Which as they kiss consume.
                -Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

    The most tragic love story in history . . .

    Juliet Capulet didn't take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, a sacrifice made to ensure his own immortality. But what Romeo didn't anticipate was that Juliet would be granted eternity, as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light. For 700 years, she's fought Romeo for the souls of true lovers, struggling to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent. Until the day she meets someone she's forbidden to love, and Romeo, oh Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy that love.



    Blood Magic (Blood Journals, #1)Blood Magic
    Written by Tessa Gratton
    Release Date: May 24, 2011
    Published by Random House Books for Young Readers

    Summary from Goodreads:
    "This page-turning debut novel will entice fans who like their paranormal romances dark and disturbing. It's a natural next-read for fans of Stephenie Meyer, Carrie Jones, and Becca Fitzpatrick. But instead of mythical creatures, blood magic has everything to do with primal human desires like power, wealth, and immortality. Everywhere Silla Kennicott turns she sees blood. She can't stop thinking about her parents alleged murder-suicide. She is consumed by a book filled with spells that arrives mysteriously in the mail. The spells share one common ingredient: blood, and Silla is more than willing to cast a few. What's a little spilled blood if she can uncover the truth? And then there's Nick—the new guy at school who makes her pulse race. He has a few secrets of his own and is all too familiar with the lure of blood magic. Drawn together by a combination of fate and chemistry, Silla and Nick must find out who else in their small Missouri town knows their secret and will do anything to take the book and magic from Silla."

    *These books sound fabulous and both covers are beautiful!

    Tuesday, April 12, 2011

    Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

    Divergent (Divergent, #1)[5stars.jpg]
    Divergent
    Written by Veronica Roth
    Release Date: May 3, 2011
    Published by Katherine Tegen Books 
    *Arc copy provided by Amazon Vine in exchange for an honest review*

    Summary from Goodreads:
    "In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

    During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.
    "


    My Thoughts:
    I really don't even know where to start with this book!  It is THAT GOOD!  It was one of those books that you have to read fast because you want to know what is going to happen next, but you hate reading fast because you do not want to finish it!  I already miss the characters in the book and I have to wait an entire year to see what happens with them next!  Veronica Roth hit one out of the park with this one.  It is one of my top three favorite books I have EVER read.  Ok, Ok.... now that I've done a little gushing let me get on with the review!  I love dystopian novels and this one is pretty much perfect!  The vision of Roth's dystopian society is a little scary, but plausable considering the state of our world these days.  The plan entailed dividing society into seperate factions based on the type of person you are and then cultivating these traits in the faction to perform a specific function needed in order for the new society to succed.  It may not sound so bad to hear it that way, but unfortunately nothing is as it seems in this world!  Corruption, betrayal, and impossible choices make this novel unputtdownable!!  I feel that the strongest aspects of Divergent lie in Roth's use of characters and in the seamless, explosive, and riveting plot.  The characters in the book really came alive on the page and I found myself experiencing the same feelings toward the characters that Tris (the main female protagonist) felt towards them.  The villians were positively ruthless and I rooted for the good guys through the whole book.  Tris undergoes a serious transformation in the book.  She makes some difficult decisions that throw her life into utter chaos, yet they allow her to explore who she really is underneath everything she has been forced to adhere to during her youth.  Throughout the book she seems to teeter on the edge of who she thought she was and who she was truly meant to be.  I admired her 'no fear' attitude even if it wasn't always true on the inside and her ability to stand up for what was right regardless of the consequences.  Another character I fell in love with was 4.  He very hard to figure out.  So much lay under the surface that it was hard to tell what was really going on with him.  As he and Tris got to know each other better the reader was given glimpses of who he really was and what made him tick and that only made me love him more!  The ending of Divergent was as action-packed as the rest of the book and had me biting my nails and flipping pages like a crazy woman!  The final scene set the stage for the next book and left me begging for more!  I cannot wait to see where Veronica Roth takes our characters next.  I recommend this book to EVERYONE!  Seriously!!  It was such a beautiful mixture of triumph and loss and heartbreak and hope.  I imagine that I will be thinking about this book for some time.

    Monday, April 11, 2011

    Review: Waterfall by Lisa T. Bergren

    Waterfall (River of Time, #1)
    [4stars.jpg] 
    Waterfall
    The River of Time Series #1
    Written by Lisa T. Bergren
    Available NOW!
    Published by David C. Cook
    *Arc copy provided by Amazon Vine in exchange for an honest review* 

    Summary from Goodreads:
    "Lisa Tawn Bergren's new YA series, River of Time, is romantic, historical fiction in which the plucky heroine doesn't have to fear a vampire's bite but must still fight for her life.

    In Waterfall, American teenager Gabi Betarrini accidently finds herself in Fourteenth-Century Italy . . . Knights. Swords. Horses. Armor. And Italian hotties. Most American teens want an Italian vacation, but the Betarrini sisters have spent every summer of their lives there with their archaeologist parents. Stuck on yet another hot, dusty dig, they are bored out of their minds... until they place their hands atop handprints in an ancient tomb and find themselves catapulted into the Fourteenth Century and in the middle of a fierce battle between knights bent on killing one another."


    My Thoughts:
    This is the first book I have ever read that is marketed as 'christian fiction' and I honestly didn't know what to expect. I will say that this book really took me by surprise!  I enjoyed it from cover to cover.  To me, it didn't seem like christian fiction.  There were references to God here and there, and Gabi prayed more than once, but it flowed with the direction and setting of the story.  Waterfall was just a great read!  I was fascinated with the time period that the majority of the story took place in.  I have always loved medieval history and culture and this book made you feel as if you were really there.  The author did such a great job creating the medieval setting, characters, and overall tone of the book.  I imagine that tons of research must have went into writing this!  I enjoyed so many of the characters!  Marcello, Luca, and Fortino made my heart melt and Gabi was such a strong female protagonist.  She was able to think on her feet quickly and not afraid to defend herself.  I did find it a little difficult to believe that at only 17 years old she would be able to step back into medieval Italy and blend in with the language, daily practices, and customs that were so dramatically different than her modern day life.  Granted she knew a lot from history lessons with her famous archaeologist parents and courses in school- but would that really be enough to blend in?  Aside from that, I found the pace of the story fast and the plot exciting.  The men in the book were beyond perfect... chivalry at its best!  Who wouldn't want their own knight in shining armor!  I was lost in this story and in its forbidden romances, betrayals, and vicious battles!  I predicted the ending pretty acurately, but that didn't take away from it at all.  I cannot wait until the second book in this series releases so I can see what Gabi and her sister do next!  Book two in The River of Time Series is titled, Cascade, and is scheduled for release on June 1st, 2011.  I highly recommend this book to any readers that love historical fiction or just a good clean 'sweep you off your feet' romance!  

    Sunday, April 10, 2011

    In My Mailbox (65)


    In My Mailbox is a weekly post that allows us to share the books we received during the week.  I purchased some really good books that I have been wanting so bad!  Have a look at what I got:


    Bought:
    Lover Unleashed by J.R. Ward (not YA!)
    City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare
    Once Dead, Twice Shy by Kim Harrison
    Born at Midnight by C.C. Hunter
    Wake Unto Me by Lisa Cach
    Sati by Christopher Pike
    Once A Witch by Carolyn MacCullough

    *Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

    Friday, April 8, 2011

    Review: Clarity by Kim Harrington

    Clarity
    [5stars.jpg]
    Clarity
    Written by Kim Harrington
    Available Now!
    Published by Point
    *Review copy provided by Amazon Vine in exchange for an honest review.

    Summary from Goodreads:
    "When you can see things others can't, where do you look for the truth?
    Clarity "Clare" Fern sees things. Things no one else can see. Things like stolen kisses and long-buried secrets. All she has to do is touch a certain object, and the visions come to her. It's a gift.
    And a curse.
    When a teenage girl is found murdered, Clare's ex-boyfriend wants her to help solve the case--but Clare is still furious at the cheating jerk. Then Clare's brother--who has supernatural gifts of his own--becomes the prime suspect, and Clare can no longer look away. Teaming up with Gabriel, the smoldering son of the new detective, Clare must venture into the depths of fear, revenge, and lust in order to track the killer. But will her sight fail her just when she needs it most?"

    My Thoughts:
    Clarity has been on my wishlist since it began popping up around the blogosphere months ago.  The reviews I read were all pretty stellar and I do love a good paranormal murder mystery!  After reading the book, I can say without a doubt that the early reviews I read were spot on!  Clarity is very well written.  Kim Harrington did a phenomenal job creating a story that kept me guessing throughout.  It was so suspensful that I had a hard time putting the book down!  All of  the characters peaked my interest as well.  As the story unfolded so did the characters.  There was more to each of them than you initially thought and that type of character development adds to the suspenseful nature of this book.  I really liked the main character Clare.  She was strong, determined, and able to maintain a thick-skin against the constant taunts and name-calling from her peers.  Her psychic ability isn't the main storyline in the book, although, it is because of her gift that she is thrust into the middle of a dangerous murder investigation.  After the tragic murder of a teenage tourist, Clare is asked to 'asssist' the police by using her psychic ability.  Clare is put face to face with more danger than she could have imagined but luckily she isn't alone!  The classic YA love triangle was present in the story.  Should Clare go for the ex-boyfriend, who is the all-american good guy or should she go for the new guy in town, who happens to be ultra mysterious and superhot?  Both guys hold appeal for Clare, but there are things about each of them that make her hesitate.  I liked both of the guys and I was still undecided at the end of the book as to which one I wanted to see Clare with.  One of my favorite parts of this book was Clare's family.  Each member had some type of 'gift' and they used their abilities and worked together giving readings to the local tourists.  You could really tell how much they loved each other and how they would do whatever was necessary to ensure each other's well being.  Their family (and their business) is threatened when a rival psychic sets up shop in town.  The family falls on hard times and paired with the recent murder, it looks pretty bleak for Clare, her family, and their business.  The end of the story is exciting!  Shocking revelations are discovered as the investigation nears its end and Clare finds that everything she holds dear could be in jeopardy.  The people in her life that she thought were her friends could be enemies and her enemies could really be her friends!  You will just have to read it to find out!  Lisa Harrington's has secured her place in YA with this one.  I cannot wait to see what happens next in Clare's story.  The second book in the series, titled Perception, is scheduled for release in March of 2012.    

    Sunday, April 3, 2011

    In My Mailbox (64)


    In My Mailbox is a weekly post that allows us to share the books we received during the week.  I haven't had time to do any posts this past week, but I plan to get back on track this week.  I received some really good books for review!  Have a look at what I got:


    For Review:
    Divergent by Veronica Roth *read this a few days ago and it is one of THE BEST books EVER!* (Courtesy of Amazon Vine)
    Waterfall (River of Time #1) by Lisa T. Bergren (Courtesy of Amazon Vine)
    America Pacifica by Anna North (Courtesy of Little, Brown & Co.)
    The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland by Catherynne M. Valente (Courtesy of  Feiwel and Friends)
    The Hot List by Hilary Homzie (Courtesy of Simon & Schuster)

    *Now you know what I got!  What did you get?