Sunday, February 28, 2010

In My Mailbox (19)

**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM**

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme that spotlights the new books you received for review, swapped, or bought!  Here are the books I got this week!




Bought:

Night Road by A.M. Jenkins  
Token Of Darkness by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes 
Jessica's Guide To Dating On The Darkside by Beth Fantaskey 
Pleasure Of A Dark Prince by Kresley Cole


Swapped:

Eragon by Christopher Paolini
The Rose And The Beast: Fairy Tales Retold by Francesca Lia Block


**Now you know what I got!  What did you get?

Friday, February 26, 2010

Review: Radiant Shadows by Melissa Marr

 Radiant Shadows            [5stars.jpg]
(Wicked Lovely Series, #4)              
Written by Melissa Marr
Release Date: April 20, 2010
Published by HarperTeen

Radiant Shadows (Wicked Lovely, #4)Melissa Marr DELIVERS once again!  The fourth installment in the Wicked Lovely series picks up where Fragile Eternity ended.  Before I started reading the book I will admit that I was a little bummed that Seth and Ash weren't the main characters of this book.  Radiant Shadows is Devlin and Ani's story.  Devlin is the brother of Sorcha (Queen of the High Court) and Bananach (the embodiment of War).  Ani is half mortal/half faery and she is also the daughter of Gabriel (Dark Court leader of the Hounds).  This installment in the series focuses on the Dark Court and the High Court.  I love the characters from the Dark Court!  Niall and Irial are two of my favorite characters from the series and they play a large role in Radiant Shadows!


 Summary from Goodreads:

"Hunger for nourishment.

Hunger for touch.

Hunger to belong.

Half-human and half-faery, Ani is driven by her hungers.
Those same appetites also attract powerful enemies and uncertain allies, including Devlin. He was created as an assassin and is brother to the faeries’ coolly logical High Queen and to her chaotic twin, the embodiment of War. Devlin wants to keep Ani safe from his sisters, knowing that if he fails, he will be the instrument of Ani’s death.

Ani isn’t one to be guarded while others fight battles for her, though. She has the courage to protect herself and the ability to alter Devlin’s plans—and his life. The two are drawn together, each with reason to fear the other and to fear for one another. But as they grow closer, a larger threat imperils the whole of Faerie. Will saving the faery realm mean losing each other?

Alluring romance, heart-stopping danger, and sinister intrigue combine in the next volume of Melissa Marr’s New York Times bestselling Wicked Lovely series."


My Thoughts:

This was a GREAT book!  If you read my Fragile Eternity review then you already know how much I love Melissa Marr's characterization.  All of the characters in her books have depth and are very layered.  The characters (new and old) in Radiant Shadows are no exception!  I loved the journey the principle characters took.  Both Ani and Devlin's lives at the beginning of the book were governed by others (Sorcha, Gabriel, Court expectations) and they both had sides to them that they were forced to repress because of their position within their Court.  Ani wanted to be accepted as a full member of The Hunt but her father maintained that she wasn't strong enough due to her mortal side.  Ani resented being coddled and wanted to be accepted as a pack member.  She was also constantly having to hide her 'hungers' from others because what made her 'different' also made her a target!  Devlin was made from Sorcha (logic/reason) and Bananach (war/chaos).  This meant that he had the capacity for strong logic and reason from Sorcha(which he clung to) and the capacity for violence, war and chaos from Bananach(which he fought to supress).  He always chose to align himself with Sorcha and the High Court.  This meant that he had to lock down all of the emotions/urges/cravings that stem from his 'sister' Bananach and carry himself in a "High Court" manner.  When Ani and Devlin's paths cross there is an instant connection that cannot be ignored by either- no matter the cost.  The chemistry between them is electric and the romance is dark and dangerous! What more could you ask for...Right?!  The other characters in the book were enjoyable as well.  I especially liked reading more about Niall (the new Dark King) and Irial (the former Dark King).  A surprising addition to the cast was Ani's steed Barry!  Who knew a steed had a sense of humor!?  There were a few new additions to the cast that I am sure we will see more of in future books too.

The pace of the book was perfect!  The were no slow parts and I had to force myself to stop reading.  I loved all the plot twists that were incorporated into the book.  It made it impossible to predict what was coming next!  The ending was the kind that I find satisfying because it wraps up all of the loose ends from this book but opens up the door for the next installment.  Melissa Marr's writing was flawless as usual and I am already dying for the next book!!!

**Arc provided by the author for a blog tour.

Thursday, February 25, 2010

All I can say is WOW!!!!

 http://media.urbandictionary.com/image/large/woot-17721.jpg


I was SO surprised this morning when I woke up to an email telling me that I was named one of the top 100 book reviewers on Twitter!!  I am so honored and humbled by this.  I still find it hard to believe that anyone even wants to read what I have to say!  I love blogging about the books I read and I really love the community I entered once I started book blogging!  I enjoy keeping up with all the different blogs I have discovered and I look forward to finding more!  I truly appreciate all of you that follow me here and on Twitter.  Thanks from the bottom of my heart!!!!

*If you would like to check out all of the reviewers listed in the article click HERE!  I am #83 on the list!

Technical Difficulties!!

For some reason the post for Tuesday is not showing all of my post!  The teaser portion is missing! Sorry guys.. It is showing on my computer when I pull up my blog but thankfully some followers have let me know it is missing when they pull it up (Thank you Cleverly Inked!!)I also tried to post a review earlier today and I experienced problems with that as well.  Please bear with me while I try and figure out what is going on!!  Thanks for your patience! :)

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Teaser Tuesdays

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Miz B of Should Be Reading and asks you to :

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share 2 "teaser" sentences.  Be sure to cite the title of the book and the author in case someone is intrigued by the "teaser" and wants to get the book!
  4. Please avoid spoilers!!


http://wickedlovely.com/files/import/RadiantShadows%20jkt%20des1.preview.jpg


Excerpt from page 97..."Niall was actually kind of sexy now that he was furious instead of sulking.  Shadows extended from him like the whispered suggestion of wings, and the lack of light made the lengthy scar on his face look menacing."



Monday, February 22, 2010

Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (1)

It's Monday! What are you reading? is a weekly meme now hosted by One Person's Journey Through a World of Books.  All you have to do is let everyone know what you are reading!

Finished Last week:

http://www.kirkusreviews.com/kirkusreviews/book_video/images/ForestofHandsandTeeth.jpg
The Forest Of Hands And Teeth by Carrie Ryan
I LOVED this one!  It was one of those books that when you are not reading it you are thinking about reading it!  I will have a review of this book and an interview with Carrie on the blog soon!

Reading Now:
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2710/4120168013_a87e734b2f.jpg
Radiant Shadows by Melissa Marr
I am about 60 pages into the book and so far it is awesome!!!

Up Next:
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51je3hmyS2L.jpg
The Pace by Shelena Shorts
I am really looking forward to reading this! I will have a review of this book and an interview with Shelena on the blog soon!

So what are you reading???
   

Sunday, February 21, 2010

In My Mailbox (18)

**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM**

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme that spotlights the new books you received for review, swapped, or bought!  Here are the books I got this week!





For Review:

Radiant Shadows (Wicked Lovely #4)
Written by Melissa Marr
Release Date: April 20, 2010
(*ARC provided by Melissa Marr for her blog tour!)


Bought:

Bad Blood (Blood Coven #4)
Written by Mari Mancusi


Swapped:

Tithe, Valiant, Ironside 
Written by Holly Black

Vampire Kisses: The Beginning
Written by Ellen Schreiber

**Now you know what I got! What did you get?


 
 

Saturday, February 20, 2010

On My Wishlist (8)

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2707/4088510611_3e7d537f7e_o.jpg

"On My Wishlist" is a weekly meme hosted by Book Chick City!  If you would like to participate in this weekly meme just click on the link above.  She has a "Mr.Linky" available so we can check out everyone's wishlists!  My wishlist is loaded with books that are upcoming releases.
Here are just a few:


Mistwood
Written by Leah Cypess
Release Date: April 27, 2010
Published by Greenwillow Books/HarperCollins

MistwoodSummary from Goodreads:

"The Shifter is an immortal creature bound by an ancient spell to protect the kings of Samorna. When the realm is peaceful, she retreats to the Mistwood.

But when she is needed she always comes.

Isabel remembers nothing. Nothing before the prince rode into her forest to take her back to the castle. Nothing about who she is supposed to be, or the powers she is supposed to have.

Prince Rokan needs Isabel to be his Shifter. He needs her ability to shift to animal form, to wind, to mist. He needs her lethal speed and superhuman strength. And he needs her loyalty--because without it, she may
be his greatest threat.

Isabel knows that her prince is lying to her, but she can't help wanting to protect him from the dangers and intrigues of the court . . . until a deadly truth shatters the bond between them.

Now Isabel faces a choice that threatens her loyalty, her heart . . . and everything she thought she knew.
"


Wereling
Written by Steve Feasey
Release Date: April 27, 2010
Published by Feiwel & Friends

WerelingSummary from Goodreads:

"Fourteen-year-old Trey Laporte is not a kid anymore. Not after the day he wakes up in agony—retina-splitting, vomit-inducing agony. His clothes are torn. His room is trashed.
Enter Luc
ien Charron, the mysterious, long-lost “uncle” with freakish fire-flecked eyes and skin that blisters in the sun. Suddenly, Trey finds himself living in a luxury penthouse at the heart of a strange and sinister empire built on the powers of the Netherworld—vampires, demons, sorcerers, and djinn.
And there is a girl—Alexa Charron—who is half vampire, half human, and insanely pretty, with powers all of her own. Trey is falling for her.
Trey is training night and day to control the newly discovered power lurking inside him. Now, demons are closing in on every side, and the most psychopathic bloodsucker to rock the Netherworld wants to destroy him. Above all,  he  must face one terrifying question: Is he a boy . . . or is he a beast?"

 

 

*I can wait for both of these books.  They sound great!  I am still putting together my MEGA-Swag contest and I am happy to say that Leah Cypess donated some awesome Mistwood bookmarks for the contest!!  Keep a look-out... the contest will be posted soon!!!

Thursday, February 18, 2010

Review: Far From You by Lisa Schroeder

Far From You              [4stars.jpg]  

Written by Lisa Schroeder                                  
Paperback released January 5, 2010
Published by Simon Pulse                                       

Far from YouSummary from Goodreads:
"Lost and alone...down the rabbit hole

Years have passed since Alice lost her mother to cancer, but time hasn't quite healed the wound. Alice copes the best she can, by writing her music, losing herself in the love of her boyfriend, and distancing herself from her father and his new wife.

But when a deadly snowstorm traps Alice with her stepmother and newborn half-sister, she'll face issues she's been avoiding for too long. As Alice looks to the heavens for guidance, she discovers something wonderful.

Perhaps she's not so alone after all..
"


My Thoughts:

I read this book last year, but I read it before I started my blog so I haven't reviewed it yet.  I had to post the cover from the paperback edition because it is SO beautiful!!  I think it really captures the tone of the book.  If you do not know what the book is about then you would probably assume from the cover and the tag line "Do you believe in angels?" that it is about angels.  There is talk of faith and guardian angels and Alice(main character) looks to Heaven for help when things are bad, but this book is mainly about family, grief, and love.

Alice is our main character and narrator.  Her mother died of cancer a couple of years ago and Alice is still unable to accept that she is gone.  Her father has moved on with his life.  He has remarried and has a newborn daughter.  Alice feels like an outsider in her home and cannot bring herself to embrace her new family.  She resents Victoria (stepmom) and doesn't want much to do with her new half-sister.  Alice clings to her boyfriend Blaze, her best friend Claire, and her music.  Things change for Alice when she is forced to take a road trip with Victoria and the baby.  While driving they are caught up in a massive snow storm and are stranded in their car.  In order to survive this ordeal Alice must work with Victoria, confront her own pent up emotions, and trust her faith.  The dire situation Alice finds herself in begins a journey of discovery for her that is profound and touching.

This is the first book I have ever read that was written in verse.  At first I admit I was skeptical that so few words could convey a story properly.  After reading the book I can say that Lisa Schroeder did an amazing job!  The verse was poetic and beautiful and it conveyed only what was necessary to the characters and the story.  The book is Alice's journey back to life (in a sense) and the rebirth of a family.  The issues the book deals with are heavy, but the story is told so beautifully that you really don't want to put it down.  This was a very quick read for me (a day!) and I look forward to future work from this author.

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

New Awards!!

Thanks to Tynga at Tynga's Reviews  for these great blog awards!!  I really appreciate them!


The Splash Award, it is given to alluring, amusing, bewitching, impressive, and inspiring blogs.  Wow... who knew my blog was bewitching!!  Pretty Cool!! :)
Your Blog is soooooo Kewl! Award is pretty self explanatory and really awesome!!!!
**Thanks again Tynga!  If you haven't been to her site go check it out and if you are looking for a new blog design she is great at that too!  She created my blog design!!  The link to Tynga's Blog Design is at the bottom of the page!

I am passing these awards along to the following blogs:
  1. The Compulsive Reader - this was the very first blog I ever really started following and it is one of the reasons I started blogging myself!!
  2. Kapri at Book Fanatics- Great blog!!
  3. Gregory, Jake and Alyssa at Teens Read and Write 
  4. Eleni at La Femme Readers- Her site is wonderful! I enjoy checking it out daily!
  5. Adrienne at An Addicted Book Reader - just found her site and its great! Go check her out!

Monday, February 15, 2010

Monday's Question Of The Day! (Feb. 15, 2010)

** Thanks to Eleni at la femmme readers for hosting Monday's Question of the Day**
 


Question:
 I am asked to give book recommendations all the time.  I love recommending books that I loved reading and that mean something to me!  If you could only recommend one book to me what would it be and why?

My Answer:
The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, #1)This is a tough question to me!  When you have read as many books as most of us, it is hard to narrow it down to one!  I guess if I had to choose one I would choose The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.  I think that this book holds appeal for a wide age range.  I also feel like it is a book that a male reader will enjoy as much as a female reader.  I haven't personally spoken to anyone who didn't enjoy this book.  I can't wait for the conclusion to the trilogy, Mockingjay, that is due out August 24, 2010.

Sunday, February 14, 2010

In My Mailbox (17)

**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM**

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme that spotlights the new books you received for review, swapped, or bought!  Here are the books I got this week!


For Review:

ArsonArson 
Written by Estevan Vega
Available now
Published by Tate Publishing
Summary: 
"Arson Gable feels like a freak. He can create fire. He never asked for it. He never wanted it. But he can't shut it off.

Before now, three things were true: he both loved and despised his grandmother; his life was going nowhere; and he was alone. But when a strange girl—who feels more normal behind a mask than inside her own skin—moves in next door, Arson hopes to find something he's never had: purpose.

Using what he fears most about himself, Arson must face his consuming past and confront the nightmare that is his present as he walks the fine line between boy and monster. Dark, moody, and breathtakingly relevant, Arson, the chilling chronicle of an isolated boy with unimaginable ability, is sure to ignite the hearts and minds of a new generation."


Bought:
Firespell (A Novel of the Dark Elite: Book One)
Written by Chloe Neill
Published by Signet

Firespell (Dark Elite, #1)Summary:

"As the new girl at the elite St. Sophia’s boarding school, Lily Parker thinks her classmates are the most monstrous things she’ll have to face…

When Lily’s guardians decided to send her away to a fancy boarding school in Chicago, she was shocked. So was St. Sophia’s. Lily’s ultra-rich brat pack classmates think Lily should be the punchline to every joke, and on top of that, she’s hearing strange noises and seeing bizarre things in the shadows of the creepy building.

The only thing keeping her sane is her roommate, Scout, but even Scout’s a little weird—she keeps disappearing late at night and won’t tell Lily where she’s been. But when a prank leaves Lily trapped in the catacombs beneath the school, Lily finds Scout running from a real monster.

Scout’s a member of a splinter group of rebel teens with unique magical talents, who’ve sworn to protect the city against demons, vampires, and Reapers, magic users who’ve been corrupted by their power. And when Lily finds herself in the line of a firespell, Scout tells her the truth about her secret life, even though Lily has no powers of her own—at least none that she’s discovered yet…  "


Finnikin Of The Rock
Written by Melina Marchetta
Published by Candlewick Press

Finnikin of the RockSummary:

"At the age of nine, Finnikin is warned by the gods that he must sacrifice a pound of flesh in order to save the royal house of his homeland, Lumatere.

And s
o he stands on the rock of three wonders with his childhood friend Prince Balthazar and the prince's cousin, Lucian, and together they mix their blood. And Lumatere is safe.

Until the 'five days of the unspeakable', when the King and Queen and their children are slaughtered in the palace. And an imposter king takes the throne.
And a curse is put on Lumatere, which traps those caught inside and forces thousands of others to roam the land as exiles, dying of fever and persecution in foreign camps.

But ten years later Finnikin is led to another rock to meet the young novice, Evanjalin. A girl plagued by dark dreams, who holds the key to their return to the Land of light..."


**I also bought two adult paranormal romances that I have been waiting for!!  I got Archangel's Kiss by Nalini Singh and First Drop of Crimson by Jeaniene Frost!

Saturday, February 13, 2010

General Update!

Hello Everyone!
I have a few things that are coming up soon that I wanted to give you a heads up on and I also have some thank yous to give out!!

Photobucket
  • First off... Thanks to Jenn at Books At Midnight for featuring me on her awesome meme The Saturday Network!!  You have to go check her out and participate in this weekly Saturday meme!!  
  • I am so excited about my upcoming MEGA-Swag Contest!  So far I have swag from the following authors/books: Anastasia Hopcus (Shadow Hills), Heidi Kling (Sea), Melissa Marr (Wicked Lovely series), Carrie Ryan (The Forest of Hands and Teeth), Estevan Vega (Arson), Amy B. White (Forget-Her-Nots), Shari Maurer (Change of Heart), Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl (Beautiful Creatures), Jessica Leader (Nice and Mean), Shelena Shorts (The Pace), Jennifer Murgia (Angel Star), Kimberly Derting (The Body Finder) and Jen Nadol (The Mark).  If you are an author and would like to put some of your swag in the pile feel free to contact me!  I would love to include you! This contest will post at the end of the month, so keep a lookout!
  • 'Old' Followers will earn extra points in the contest.  'Old' means that you are a follower before the contest posts, so if you want to get those extra points go ahead and click the follow button on the left now!
  • Thanks to Anastasia Hopcus and Heidi Kling for helping me get in touch with so many authors! You guys are awesome!!

Friday, February 12, 2010

Friday Finds! (February 12, 2010)

**Thanks to MizB from Should Be Reading for hosting Friday Finds!**
[ff2_md1.jpg]



 Mockingjay (Hunger Games #3)
Written by Suzanne Collins
Release Date: August 24, 2010
Published by Scholastic Press

Mockingjay (Hunger Games, #3)Summary from Goodreads:

"Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she’s still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what’s worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss’s family, not her friends, not the people of District 12. Powerful and haunting, this thrilling final installment of Suzanne Collins’s groundbreaking The Hunger Games trilogy promises to be one of the most talked about books of the year. "


**YEAH!! I know this is all over the blogs today, but I am so excited about this book that I had to include it!!**

 


Ondine: The Summer of Shambles
Writtten by Ebony McKenna
Release Date: April 5, 2010
Published by Egmont Books Ltd.

Ondine: The Summer of ShamblesSummary from Goodreads:

"This is a brilliantly witty fairy tale with a mystery that is as surreal as it is sinister. One girl. One boy. One spell to be broken. Ondine de Groot is a normal fifteen-year-old who lives with her family in the European country of Brugel. She has a pet ferret called Shambles. But Shambles is no ordinary ferret...He's Hamish McPhee, a boy cursed by a witch. A witch who happens to be related to Ondine. When Shambles turns back into Hamish temporarily, Ondine knows that she has to help him break the spell. He is the most gorgeous boy she has ever met and her one true love! He just can't remain a ferret forever. Can he?"  
 
*This sounds like another great release from Egmont!

Thief Eyes
Written by Janni Lee Simner
Release Date: April 27, 2010
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers

Thief EyesSummary from Goodreads:

"After her mother mysteriously disappears, sixteen-year-old Haley convinces her father to take her to Iceland, where her mother was last seen. There, amidst the ancient fissures and crevices of that volcanic island, Haley meets gorgeous Ari, a boy with a dangerous side who appoints himself her protector.
When Haley picks up a silver coin that entangles her in a spell cast by her ancestor Hallgerd, she discovers that Hallgerd's spell and her mother's disappearance are connected to a chain of events that could unleash terrifying powers and consume the world. Haley must find a way to contain the growing fires of the spell—and her growing attraction to Ari.

Janni Lee Simner brings the fierce romance and violent passions of Iceland's medieval sagas into this twenty-first-century novel, with spellbinding results."


*I am really looking forward to all of these books!  Did you find anything new coming out that you are excited about?* 

Thursday, February 11, 2010

Darklight by Leslie Livingston

[5stars.jpg]
Darklight  
(Wonderous Strange, #2) 
Written by Leslie Livingston
Released December 22, 2009
Published by HarperTeen

Darklight is the second book in the Wonderous Strange trilogy by Leslie Livingston.  Wonderous Strange easily made my Top Picks of 2009 and Darklight will be one my favorite reads of 2010!  I love this series! I am a big fan of Fae books in general, but this series is written so beautifully that I am already counting down the days for the third and final book in the series that is due out in December of this year.

Darklight (Wondrous Strange, #2)Summary from Goodreads:

"Much has changed since autumn, when Kelley Winslow learned she was Faerie royalty, fell in love with changeling guard Sonny Flannery, and saved New York City from a rampaging Faerie war band. When a terrifying encounter in Central Park sends Kelley tumbling into the Otherworld, her reunion with Sonny is joyful—but cut short. For they’ve been plunged into a game of Faerie deception and wavering allegiances in which the next move could topple a kingdom...or part them forever.

The fans who flocked to Lesley Livingston’s Wondrous Strange will fall hard for Darklight, the soaringly romantic second book in the trilogy. Breathless high stakes and vividly magical characters make this a can’t-miss fantasy for readers of Melissa Marr and Holly Black." 


My Thoughts:
Darklight picks up 6 months after the events at the end of Wonderous StrangeKelley has had some time to digest the news about her Faery heritage and the identity of her real parents.  She is back at the theater trying to resume her 'mortal' life again, which means that her magic is being supressed by her ever present green jeweled necklace.  She desperately misses Sonny (her boyfriend/Janus Guard member), who is in the Otherworld under orders from Auberon tracking down and eliminating the remaining members of "The Wild Hunt".  Kelley's life quickly swings out of control when she is thrust into the Otherworld after a surprising attack against her and Fennrys Wolf (Janus Guard/ Hottie).  What transpires is an exciting tale of Faery politics, deception, and romance.

One of the strong points in Leslie Livingston's books is her character development.  She writes so beautifully and it reflects in her characters.  The central theme of this book is the relationship between Kelley and Sonny.  The circumstances they face in the book are the catalyst for the changes that begin to show in their characters.  Kelley is beginning to reveal more of her faery side.  In Wonderous Strange she seemed to cling to her humanity, but in Darklight she begins to embrace who and what she is.  She is becoming more confident in herself and is able to take care of herself better.  Her love for Sonny is the driving force behind most of her actions and this love will definitely be tested!  She is also beginning to understand that everything and everyone is not always as it seems.  Sonny is as hot as ever, but he seems tormented as well.  He is torn between his desire to be with Kelley and his duty to carry out Auberon's orders in the Otherworld.  We learn much more about Sonny and his past and a HUGE bombshell is dropped that I did not see coming!!

I also truly enjoyed the secondary characters in Darklight!  I especially liked getting to know Fennrys Wolf better!  We were introduced to him in Wonderous Strange as a member of the Janus Guard.  He was portrayed as a ruthless killer and was feared by most.  In this book we are given glimpses of a more vunerable side.  When he and Kelley tumble into the Otherworld together,  an attraction between them begins to take shape that both of them try to ignore.  He shows a softer side when he is with Kelley and at times I actually found myself rooting for Fennrys instead of Sonny!  Kelley's roomate Tyff is back again too.  I just love her and her snarky attitude!  The other Janus Guards, Jack Savage, Mabh, Auberon, and the other faeries help make this book a great read!

Darklight is a fast-paced page turner that will hook you in the first chapter! The plot is full of twists and turns that keep you guessing until the end!  Speaking of the ending.... All I can say is WOW- I did not see that coming!  The events that take place at the conclusion of Darklight set the stage for an incredible final book! 

Wednesday, February 10, 2010

On My Wishlist (7)

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2707/4088510611_3e7d537f7e_o.jpg
"On My Wishlist" is a weekly meme hosted by Book Chick City!  If you would like to participate in this weekly meme just click on the link above.  She has a "Mr.Linky" available so we can check out everyone's wishlists!  My wishlist is loaded with books that are upcoming releases.
Here are just a few:


Sea
Written by Heidi R. Kling
Release Date: June 10, 2010
Published by Putnam Juvenile

SeaSummary from Goodreads:
"Haunted by recurring nightmares since her mother’s disappearance over the Indian ocean three years before, fifteen-year old California girl Sienna Jones reluctantly travels with her psychiatrist father’s volunteer team to six-months post-tsunami Indonesia where she meets the scarred and soulful orphaned boy, Deni, who is more like Sea than anyone she has ever met.

She knows they can’t be together, so why can’t she stay away from him? And what about her old best friend-turned-suddenly-hot Spider who may or may not be waiting for her back home? And why won’t her dad tell her the truth about her mother’s plane crash? The farther she gets from home, the closer she comes to finding answers.

And Sea’s real adventure begins
. " 


Forget-Her-Nots
Written by Amy Brecount White
Release Date: March 2, 2010
Published by Greenwillow Books


Forget-Her-NotsSummary from Goodreads:
"When someone leaves three mystery flowers outside her dorm door, Laurel thinks that maybe the Avondale School isn't so awful after all — until her own body starts to freak out. In the middle of her English presentation on the Victorian Language of Flowers, strange words pop into her head, and her body seems to tingle and hum. Impulsively, Laurel gives the love bouquet she made to demonstrate the language to her spinster English teacher. When that teacher unexpectedly and immediately finds romance, Laurel suspects that something — something magical — is up. With her new friend, Kate, she sets out to discover the origins and breadth of her powers by experimenting on herself and others. But she can’t seem to find any living experts in the field of flower powers to guide her. And her bouquets don't always do her bidding, especially when it comes to her own crush, Justin. Rumors about Laurel and her flowers fly across campus, and she's soon besieged by requests from girls — both friends and enemies — who want their lives magically transformed — just in time for prom."
  
*Both of these books seem very original!  I can't wait to read them.  I am in the process of putting together my MEGA-Swag Contest and I am happy to say that I will have swag items from both of these books!!  Keep a lookout!!!  Now you know what is on my wishlist.  What is on yours?  

Monday, February 8, 2010

Monday's Question Of The Day! (Feb. 08, 2010)

** Thanks to Eleni at la femmme readers for hosting Monday's Question of the Day**



Question:
With Valentine's Day around the corner I thought a romance question was in order!  So here goes: What young adult book do you think has the BEST romance in it?




My Answer:

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_sE02h0IA634/SwVA2PWRUQI/AAAAAAAAAC8/9FgXzEjRT-E/s1600/Hush+Hush%5B4%5D.jpg
I love a good romance (especially a paranormal romance) and I have quite a few favorites!  But if I had to pick one to recommend to someone I would choose Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick.  The romance between Patch (a fallen Angel!) and Nora is not your typical mushy relationship, but a dangerous, dark, and forbidden love.  The pull they feel towards each other is undeniable and h-o-t!  I would definitely love to have Patch as my valentine!

*I would love to hear your answers! Comment and let me know!!!

Sunday, February 7, 2010

In My Mailbox (16)

**Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting IMM**

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme that spotlights the new books you received for review, swapped, or bought!  Here are the books I got this week!



For Review:
[perchance+to+dream.jpg] 
Perchance To Dream (arc)
Written by Lisa Mantchev
Release Date: June 2010
Published by Feiwel And Friends (Macmillan)

**This is the sequel to "Eyes Like Stars"**


 

Bought:

Light Beneath FernsIncarceron



Lips Touch Three Times
Written by Laini Taylor
Published by Arthur A. Levine Books (Imprint of Scholastic) 

Light Beneath Ferns
Written by Anne Spollen
Published by Flux

Incarceron
Written by Catherine Fisher
Published by Dial Books (Imprint of Penguin Group) 

Swapped:

Tempest Rising (arc)
Written by Nicole Peeler
Published by Orbit Books (Imprint of Hachette Book Group)
*Thanks Jen!*


9780316056588_154X233 
 

Saturday, February 6, 2010

Fragile Eternity by Melissa Marr

Fragile Eternity (Wicked Lovely, #3)[5stars.jpg]

One of my all-time favorite book series is the Wicked Lovely  series by Melissa Marr.  Fragile Eternity is the third installment in this phenomenal series!  If you are a fan of the first two books, Fragile Eternity is not going to disappoint you!  
**SPOILER ALERT** If you haven't read Wicked Lovely and Ink Exchange this review may contain spoilers!  Go NOW and get both of them and start READING! 
Summary from HarperCollins:

"Seth never expected he would want to settle down with anyone—but that was before Aislinn. She is everything he'd ever dreamed of, and he wants to be with her forever. Forever takes on new meaning, though, when your girlfriend is an immortal faery queen.
Aislinn never expected to rule the very creatures who'd always terrified her—but that was before Keenan. He stole her mortality to make her a monarch, and now she faces challenges and enticements beyond any she'd ever imagined.
In Melissa Marr's third mesmerizing tale of Faerie, Seth and Aislinn struggle to stay true to themselves and each other in a milieu of shadowy rules and shifting allegiances, where old friends become new enemies and one wrong move could plunge the Earth into chaos."


My Thoughts:
Melissa Marr out did herself with this one!  I L-O-V-E-D it!  I found this book extremely hard to put down, even when dinner was burning on the stove, the dog was whining to go out, and the phone was ringing!!  Seriously...I wasn't that bad but I wasn't far from it! Fragile Eternity picks up the story between Seth and Aislinn (aka Ash).  I love the lovestory between them and I couldn't wait to find out where their relationship would go after Wicked Lovely (Ink Exchange is a companion book to Wicked Lovely and Fragile Eternity is the actual sequel to Wicked Lovely).  Seth is my favorite character and I was excited to see that this is basically 'his' book. 

I think that the underlying theme in Fragile Eternity is balance.  Balance between the courts (Summer, Winter, and Dark) and balance between love and court responsibilities within the relationships found in the book (Seth and Ash, Keenan and Donia, as well as Keenan and Ash).  The need for balance between all the courts is crucial to not only the Faerie, but the mortal world as well.  If one court is stronger than the others, the mortal world feels the effect.  When Beira was Winter Queen, she was more powerful than Keenan (Summer King) because he had yet to find his queen.  This imbalance plunged the mortal world into eternal Winter since the strongest court was the Winter court.  Unfortunately, the courts are becoming unbalanced again.  Seth (Ash's boyfriend and a mortal) seems to be the central figure in this unbalance.  He is Ash's lover, Keenan(Summer King) just wants him gone, Niall(King of the Dark Court) protects him and thinks of him as a brother, and Donia(the new Winter Queen) identifies with him and feels bad for his situation.  She is also the one that granted him "The Sight", which enabled him to see faeries.  Last (but certainly not least!) there is Sorcha, the Queen of the High Court, who plays a major part in the story and in Seth's life.  Unfortunately, I can't really say much about Sorcha's connection with Seth because it would be a MAJOR spoiler!  So I will just say that what transpires is unexpected and exciting!  

One of the biggest strengths in all of Melissa Marr's books, especially Fragile Eternity, are her characters.  She crafts each character so that the reader feels something for each of them.  You love them and root for them (Seth) or you just don't like them (Keenan), but you feel something for all of them.  The pace of this book was quick and the plot was full of exciting twists and unexpected turns!  This book made me love Seth even more than I already did.  You can just feel how consumed he is in his love for Aislinn.  The fear he feels over losing her to Keenan and her position as Summer Queen (not to mention her immortality versus his mortality) is the motivation behind some big decisions he makes that will effect everyone! I am dying to find out if Seth made the right choices or if Keenan and the Court will pull her away from him after all.   

I highly recommend all of Melissa Marr's books, especially Fragile Eternity!  These are fun books that will keep you up at night reading (Don't you just love those kind of books!) and leave you begging for a sequel!  The next book, Radiant Shadows,  is coming out soon.  If you follow my blog you know how much I am anticipating getting my hands on it!  Well keep a look out for my review coming soon.  I am a lucky participant in Melissa's arc tour and I should be receiving the book within the next week or so!!!  YEAH!! Woot! Woot!!  Thanks for stopping by!

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

On My Wishlist (6)

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2707/4088510611_3e7d537f7e_o.jpg
"On My Wishlist" is a weekly meme hosted by Book Chick City!  If you would like to participate in this weekly meme just click on the link above.  She has a "Mr.Linky" available so we can check out everyone's wishlists!  My wishlist is loaded with books that are upcoming releases.
Here are just a few:




Sisters Red
Written by Jackson Pearce
Release Date: June 7, 2010
Published by Little Brown

Sisters Red (Sisters Red, #1)Summary from Goodreads:
"Scarlett March lives to hunt the Fenris-- the werewolves that took her eye when she was defending her sister Rosie from a brutal attack. Armed with a razor-sharp hatchet and blood-red cloak, Scarlett is an expert at luring and slaying the wolves. She's determined to protect other young girls from a grisly death, and her raging heart will not rest until every single wolf is dead.
Rosie March once felt her bond with her sister was unbreakable. Owing Scarlett her life, Rosie hunts fiercely alongside her. Now Rosie dreams of a life beyond the wolves and finds herself drawn to Silas, a young woodsman who is deadly with an ax-- but loving him means betraying her sister and has the potential to destroy all they've worked for. "

Twenty-five-year-old Jackson Pearce delivers a dark, taut fairy tale with heart-pounding action, fierce sisterly love, and a romance that will leave readers breathless. 



Merlin's Harp
Written by Anne Crompton
Release Date: March 1, 2010
Published by Sourcebooks Fire

Merlin's HarpSummary from Goodreads:
"Among the towering trees of magical Avalon, where humans dare not tread, lives Niviene, daughter of the Lady of the Lake and apprentice to Merlin the mage. Her people, the Fey, are folk of the wood and avoid the violence and avarice of man. But the strife of King Arthur's realm threatens even Avalon's peace, and Merlin needs his apprentice to thwart the chaos devouring Camelot. And so Niviene must use her special talents to help save a kingdom and discover the treachery of men and the beauty of love. A mystical love story, now back in print, sure to become a modern teen classic." 

  
Infinity(Chronicles of Nick, #1)
Written by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Release Date: June 8, 2010
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
 

Infinity (Chronicles of Nick, #1)Summary from Goodreads:
"At 14, Nick Gautier is an average kid who runs with the wrong crowd. But on the night he decides to go straight and refuses to mug an innocent tourist, his crew turns on him and just as he thinks his life is over... a new one begins.

Kyrian
of Thrace isn't just a vampire slayer, he's a Dark-Hunter and he introduces Nick to a world that he never imagined.

With new enemies who make his old ones look like wimps, Nick must either measure up or get sized for a body bag. It's kill or be killed and this kid who was born on the wrong side finds a strength inside him that he never knew existed.

Now if he can only find someone to help battle the demons that don't reside inside him
. "

 I am so excited about all of these books!  What is on your wishlist?




Tuesday, February 2, 2010

A New Award!

I received this award from Jean at Tuning Into YA Books!  Thanks so much Jean! I really appreciate it!



The rules are pretty simple. Answer the following questions with Single Word answers then pass this along to 5 other bloggers. Make sure you let them know about it though.

Your Cell Phone? Blackberry
Your Hair? Straight
Your Mother? Wonderful
Your Father? Hunter
Your Favorite Food? Thai
Your Dream Last Night? blank
Your Favorite Drink? Mt. Dew
Your Dream/Goal? Happy
What Room Are You In? Den
Your Hobby? Reading
Your Fear? Spiders
Where Do You Want To Be In Six Years? Here
Where Were You Last Night? Home
Something That You Aren't? Neat
Muffins? Blueberry
Wish List Item? Bookcase
Where Did You Grow Up? North Carolina
Last Thing You Did? Breakfast
What Are You Wearing? Sweatshirt
Your TV? Flatscreen
Your Pets? Dog
Friends? Loyal
Your Life? Stress
Your Mood? Tired
Missing Someone? Kirsten
Vehicle? Honda
Something You Aren't Wearing? Shoes
Your Favorite Store? Bookstore
Your Favorite Color? Purple
When Was The Last Time You Laughed? Today
Last Time You Cried? Month
Your Best Friend? Thoughtful
One Place You Go To Over And Over Again? Bookstore
Facebook? Sometimes
Favorite Place To Eat? Home

Here are the five blogs that I would like to pass this award to:

  1. Lucy at Delightful Reviews
  2. Liz at Cleverly Inked
  3. Tina at Fantastic Book Review
  4. Katie at Katie's Book Blog
  5. Steph Su at Steph Su Reads
Thanks again Jean for this award!!!